2 Comments

The Writing Hamster Wheel

Hello again, and sorry that I forgot to post last week. (Cranky, teething Little T…)

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve started buckling down on edits for my urban fantasy WIP, Forged Steel. I might get a little grumbly if I run into a road block on a rough draft, but when I first start editing, the entire Upper Peninsula thinks that winter has come early.

Once I get into it, it’s not so bad. In fact, when I’ve been working on it for several days, I even start getting excited about editing. At that point, I start thinking of all the cool things I can do to reveal character motivation and backstory, and oh! What if Character X did this, then Character Y would get to do THIS, and Character Z could REACT LIKE THIS, and it would be AWESOME!!! 😉

After a while, reality starts intruding into my happy little world. Housework threatens to topple on us whenever we sneeze too loudly, and the realities of what I can accomplish in a day with a crank, teething baby (hint, not much) starts to show up. People want to come over and hang out, which necessitates picking up a little so we don’t look like a healthy hazard, or people want to go out and do something before the white death covers everything and no one wants to stick their noses out the door for fear they will freeze off. Before I know it, a week will have passed without so much as a glance at my WIP.

So I bury the phone under a mountain of pillows, ignore the dishes, resist the siren song of Facebook, Pinterest and email, and (with many pleas that the baby will just take a nice, loooooong nap on his own for once), dig in again.

This often makes me feel like this:

Ah well. 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

2 comments on “The Writing Hamster Wheel

  1. Amen to trying to strike a workable balance between editing and reality–especially with the holidays looming.
    Wish we could just ride the wheel; at least that would be fun. 😉

  2. This may give you comfort in your trials… 😉

Leave a Reply

