2 Comments

ACFW Top 10 Recap

1175436_710459372313635_1540036070_nFirst, I want to apologize for forgetting to post last Monday. I had planned to write up a “What Going on at ACFW” post on Saturday or Sunday night, but it didn’t happen. If you’ve ever been to one of these large conferences, you already know how mentally and physically draining they can be. By the time I pulled my Microsoft Surface out to write up the blog post, I was seeing two screens and hearing a loud buzzing in my silent hotel room. Disturbing, I know.

Now, though, I have recovered–for the most part–and can impart the jewels of wisdom I discerned from the various speakers and workshops.

1. Brandilyn Collins and James Scott Bell should not be allowed in the same room, especially if there’s a microphone involved.

2. Still, James Scott Bell is an excellent speaker and teacher. I enjoyed his full day workshop and believe that it’s probably one of the best I’ve been to. He is full of wisdom and wit. If you haven’t read his writing books–do it!

3. I can talk to both Frank Peretti and James Rubart without getting completely tongue-tied and making too big a fool of myself. I’ve even got pictures!014

4. While I was disappointed my novel didn’t make it to the Genesis finals, Becky Dean’s story is awesome, and she definitely deserved to win. Go, Becky!

5. Agents and editors are real people. Okay, I already knew this. But for some reason, I let a couple of my appointments make me nervous. Not my appointment with Jeff Gerke, though, cause he’s just Jeff. 😛 But, hey, I got 2 requests for fulls!

6. “Grace treats us as if we already are what we fear we’ll never become.” -Beth Moore

Did you just get chills? Of course, Beth Moore wasn’t at the conference, but this was one of those God-things that happened while I was helping to man the silent auction. A lady totally unrelated to ACFW shared that quote with us.

7. I love reconnecting with old friends, and I love making new ones. I also realized that many, many spec fic writers live in the Northwest. I live in Amish country. Help! Also, my roommate was pretty cool.

8. Robin Jones Gunn is a great speaker–funny and smart. You should hear her tell her story about wanting to be a missionary in Kenya. It’s just one of those things that’s not easy to convey in writing–at least not in a short blog post.

9. Yes, Ben wore his arm to the genre dinner. But there were also many other amazing costumes from all eras and genres. My friend, Kim Vandel, used her Jedi powers to procure us the perfect table.

10. There is just something about being in a room full of like-minded people. It’s amazing. And they don’t look at you weird. Okay, so some look at the spec fic writers like we’re monkeys in the zoo, but they still love us! They understand.

11. BONUS! Even more awesome is the sound of 600 voices worshiping the Lord with one heart and one mind. Absolutely beautiful.

Better start saving now! Next year, the ACFW conference will be in St. Louis. I plan to be there–how about you?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

2 comments on “ACFW Top 10 Recap

  1. Thank you for this very special report. 🙂 Beth Moore’s comment is very special all by itself. It also sounds like something a certain “personality type” would (or else could appreciate) know naturally even more than others would… explaining why the apostle Paul was of that type (ENFP). God chose an “inspirer” to bring the point across in a way none other could.

  2. I would love to go again, but it all depends on the finances. It’s just such a darned expensive conference. And I have two others on the list ahead of it: Realm Makers and an editor’s conference that I had better attend because I’m on the planning committee. 😀

Leave a Reply

