2 Comments

With Baby In Tow

I wonder if every new parent makes the same mistake–that of hearing all their friends’ stories about having a baby was hard to adjust IMG_1876 to; how you get used to operating in a state of semi-wakefulness all day long; how their little one wouldn’t sleep/nurse/you-name-it–and thinks, “Oh, that won’t be my baby.”

I thought that too. I should’ve listened to my mother-in-law when she said, “Yeah right.”

Parenthood is much more difficult than I thought it was. If I’d had advanced notice of how hard it was, I might not have signed up.

It’s been over a year since I found out I was pregnant with our second baby, and on March 27 of this year, Little T was born. Since his birth there have been a lot of tears, grumbling, missed deadlines, and opportunities we’ve had to pass on because we don’t feel like schlepping everything but the kitchen sink with us. I’ve had to share my sleeping space–be it bed, couch, or recliner–with a grouchy little monster who has peed, pooped, and puked on me multiple times.

I’m glad I didn’t know how hard it was.

There are so many things I love about having a kid. I love Little T’s funny faces, watching him starting to explore the world (he’s trying toIMG_2209 crawl now) and, most of all, I love cuddling my sleeping little boy at night. It’s so fun watching my husband, who was second of ten kids, come home and play with his little boy.

I said years ago that I never wanted my writing to come in the way of friends and family. That has been tested this year, as I’ve struggled to find time to get even the most miniscule amount of writing done. Nearly six months later, I finally have a plan that works, as long as I manage to get up at six in the morning (have I mentioned before that I’m not a morning person?) 😉

Having a baby has been quite an adventure. I can’t wait to see where we go from here.

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

2 comments on “With Baby In Tow

  1. My second child definitely hit my schedule harder than the first. Juggling the two, especially during the first few years, did not leave much room for anything that required creative energy.

    Now they are 10 yrs and 8 yrs old, and I have a lot more freedom even though we’re homeschooling. Hang in there! Although there are seasons when writing is put on pause, you’ll have the chance to “press play” again.

    Glad you’re finding a schedule that works for you.

  2. I’m pregnant with my fourth, and I’ve learned to not plan on doing anything creative for the first 6 months to a year after the baby’s born. Unless I can do it one-handed. Once the munchkin is scooting around playing with toys, I have a little more leisure time.

Leave a Reply

