2 Comments

That Guy Needs More Grandkids

grandpaIt was a day like any other.

Well, any other first-day-of-the-school-year.

Well, any other first-day-of-the-school-year-that-happens-to-coincide-with-having-plans-nonstop-throughout-the-day.

My sister and her husband are moving out of the country. He got a job overseas and is leaving next week. They moved out of their old house, and in the interim are staying at his parents’ house.

Therefore, as we wanted to squeeze in as much family time before they left, we went over there last night for dinner–burgers and hotdogs on the grill–and swimming.

The kids, of course, had a jolly time swimming and playing, but as it was a school night, we didn’t want to stay too late.

Well, not later than bedtime.

Well, not later than a little later than bedtime might be on a night that wasn’t a school night.

Naturally, as generally happens when people have poor time-management skills and little willpower, especially when there is limited time over the next week to socialize and when we spent more time playing than conversing, we lingered to chat for a bit while the kids waited with twiddling thumbs in the car because, really, we’re going home any minute. Honest.

My Genius Nerd Hubby was discussing the various internet phone options with my sister when I overheard my brother-in-law say to his father, “Don’t tell them that!”

I wandered over to where my BIL’s father was standing next to my van, chatting with my daughter.

“What did he say?” I asked innocently.

“He promised them ponies if they came back.”

To which the guilty party immediately defended himself by saying once upon a time they had a pony for their daughter’s birthday party and the kids rode up and down the street on the pony all day.

He also offered to keep my daughter, so I asked her if she wanted to be adopted by her uncle’s parents. She nodded and said, “Am I going now?”

Well, that one backfired. Oops.

The father disappeared into the house and returned with two plastic swords which he handed to my two oldest boys, along with a lengthy explanation about how it’s a bad neighborhood (it wasn’t) and they needed to protect themselves.

At that point, I said to my sister and brother-in-law (who have only been married since February and are not, to my knowledge, in any hurry to increase the size of their family) “That guy needs more grandkids.”

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

2 comments on “That Guy Needs More Grandkids

  1. Hilarious! And completely relatable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

