2 Comments

Into the Wind

realm makersI’m leaving this evening to go to the Realm Makers conference.

I met one of my goals, which was finishing my manuscript, “The Days of Noah.” I do my first draft by hand, and I haven’t finished typing it yet, but I finished the story, so at least I know what happens. (Yes, that’s a danger. Up until the last few pages I wasn’t completely sure what was going to happen or how things were going to play out). I did a lot of going back and forth and adding things in because I realized as I went that something should’ve happened earlier in the timeline and that the main character learned too much too soon and so on.

But now the story is complete. The first draft of it, anyway. I’m already thinking of things I need to embellish and tighten during the second draft. But it’s enough to start with.

Along with “Noah,” I’ll also be pitching “Dragons,” which as you all know is my baby, and also the children’s story I wrote, “The Treasure of Banshee Isle.”

I don’t know what’s going to happen. I don’t know who I’m going to meet or what kind of feedback I’ll get. Maybe it will all be negative. Maybe someone will express interest in one or more of my projects. I have no idea. What I do know, though, is that I’m meant to be there. God provided a way for me to go, making it possible when I didn’t think it would be. The details that all came together, financially, logistically, and in several other ways, was so far out of my control that there was no way I could have done it on my own. There’s no explanation other than this is where I’m supposed to be.

And so I’ll go. I’ll pitch, I’ll network, I’ll absorb knowledge from the many delightful speakers and presenters who will be there, and I will put these stories out there. Send them into the wind and see where they land.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

2 comments on “Into the Wind

  1. That’s so cool, Avily. I’m glad you were there, and I look forward to hearing how your meetings went.

Leave a Reply

