8 Comments

Favorite Villains

file6211233874613Yes, I still have company.

Yes, I’m still way behind on my to-do list. (But I’m slowly checking stuff off!)

Yes, I didn’t have time to focus on writing a blog post for today. Man, I’ve got the summer slugitis–no matter how much I get done, it doesn’t seem to be fast enough to keep stuff from piling up. Oy! I thought summer was supposed to be slow.

Last week, we discussed what we would dress as if we went to a costume ball. This week, I thought we’d turn back to books (that’s why we’re here, right?) So here’s this week’s question:

Excluding any of your own creation, who is your favorite villain and why?

Discuss!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

8 comments on “Favorite Villains

  1. I can’t say she’s my favorite villain, but Professor Umbridge from the Harry Potter has to be the most evil. Why? On the surface she’s nice, kind, and sweet. She’s all pink, kittens, and teapots. On the inside, venom runs through her blood.
    There have been people in my life like that where I clench my fists and think “She’s mean and nasty and everyone loves her. Can’t anyone else see this?”
    Not so different than Satan himself who can pose as an angel of light.

  2. *from Harry Potter*

  3. I’m not sure if he exactly qualifies as a villain since, you know, he was trying to actually SAVE Harry even though he was a total jerk wad about absolutely everything else, but Severus Snape (also from Harry Potter) is my absolute favorite ‘villain’ ever. And, incidentally, he is also my favorite character ever. In any book, period. Rowling makes *great* characters. I have to agree with the commenter above that Delores Umbridge is also awesome. So awesome I loathe her with every fiber of my being. But I hate her so much I can’t stand to ‘like’ her 🙂

  4. Evil Magician Trent from Piers Anthony’s A Spell for Chameleon. He’s smart, handsome, determined, ruthless, and diametrically opposed to the agenda of the hero, Bink. If I remember correctly, he actually turns out to be right, too. My favorite part is he’s a good guy in later books. I love it when that happens.

    Piers Anthony actually writes some great, well-rounded villains in his Xanth series.

  5. Can’t really think of any favorite villains. Most of my favorite books don’t really have villains. And those that do don’t have remarkable villains.

    Have to admit, if someone comes across as a “villain” they seem like a cardboard character to me. The very word judges them, paints them too broadly.

    By the time a character comes across as a believable antagonist, I feel like I know them too well to consider them simply a “villain”. I understand their motivations, even if I don’t agree with them. Like Magneto in X-Men. Is he a villain, really? Or simply a true believer in a worldview opposed to mine?

    I usually feel that way about serial killers in suspense thrillers, too. Somewhere in there is a messed up human being. Someone that Jesus died for. Someone that the devil has deceived into a terrible choice (or choices). Breaks my heart.

  6. I think I said this before — maybe it was on Facebook — but I still think the best villain of all time is Javert from Les Miserables, because he thinks he’s the good guy, upholding truth and justice.

  7. I thought of another one – Saerula from The Duke’s Handmaid by Caprice Hokstad. She’s a mean, vicious… horrible person, but I actually sympathize with her situation. I don’t agree with her solutions, but I get where she’s coming from and find myself thinking, “Yeah, I’d feel that way, too. You’re a mean, vicious…horrible person, but you’re right about that.”

Leave a Reply

