Leave a comment

WIP Report for July 2013

NAF WIP Report July 2013

Will Ramirez:

WIP Title: Sky Calling

Current Word Count: 37.000

Expected Word Count: 105,000

Goal Finish Date: September 30, 2013

First Draft

One sentence blurb/premise for your current WIP: When the pantheon threatens everything the Godslayer loves, he takes the battle to the skies.

Biggest Challenge you’ve faced last month: Learning to trust God completely with our search for a house. Not because he’s unfaithful, but because I like to know all the details beforehand.

Biggest Encouragement/Best thing that happened: Broke through some writer’s dregs and knocked out a good 15k words this month. Wrote some very emotional scenes that I’d been looking forward to and think I nailed them.

A Helpful Link to Pass along: I get David Farland’s Daily Kick in the Pants blog sent to my email each day. This one inspired me to write my the final part of the climax scene of Sky Calling and boy did it pay off. I would have never tried to do this out of order had I not read this article. http://www.davidfarland.net/writing_tips/?a=222

Avily Jerome:

The Days of Noah

Current Word count: 48,270

Est. Total Word count: 85,000

Goal Date: 7/31/13

First Draft

The eyes were back. Watching. Mocking. Jack thinks she’s going crazy, seeing and hearing things…but what if she isn’t?

My biggest challenge this month is that I’ve had so much going on I haven’t been able to get this book finished. Each month I push back my expected finish date, and each month I make progress, but not enough. I’m really hoping to finish the first draft in time for Realm Makers, but the days keep slipping away with not enough getting done.

My biggest encouragement this month is that God provided a way for me to go to Realm Makers when I didn’t think I’d be able to.

A helpful link to pass along: Shameless plug for Splickety! http://splicketymagazine.com/lightning-blog/ Everything from humorous anecdotes to writing tips to spiritual insight, the Splickety Magazine blog is a great place for quick, interesting reading!

Kristen Stieffel:

WIP Title: Hope and Pride

Current Word Count: 108,030

Expected Word Count: 110,000

Goal Finish Date: June 15

Draft 1, 2, Editing etc: Final

One sentence blurb/premise for your current WIP: To embrace the future, they must release the past.

Biggest Challenge you’ve faced last month: I still feel like there’s something missing from this book, but I can’t quite figure it out. It has to do with the relationship between the hero and his mentor. Robynn said the book doesn’t need any more. And of course the editors I pitch think it needs less—that is, fewer words. It’s a puzzle. I submitted the book for a contest, so it will be interesting to see what the judges have to say.

Biggest Encouragement/Best thing that happened: I’ve seen a big increase in my freelance work. It took a bite out of my writing time, but I’m grateful to have so many great clients.

A Helpful Link to Pass along: Great post from Joanna Penn: Help! My Book Isn’t Selling. 10 Questions You Need To Answer Honestly If You Want To Sell More Books.

http://www.thecreativepenn.com/2012/10/12/help-my-book-isnt-selling/

A lot of these are things you need to do during the writing of the book.

Ren_smalRen Black:

Title: Secrets of the Dragon Seal
Condition: Revisions
Current Word Count: 4,500

Grandfather said Diana is chosen by God to bring peace to the land, but her quest is doomed from the start. What happens when the Prophesied one fails?

Biggest Struggle: Finding time to write, particularly focused, uninterrupted time where I’m not falling asleep sitting up.  I also lost the digital copy of about 15 pages and have to piece together or transcribe it back in.  Sooooooo tedious…

Biggest Encouragement: My Husband and I have been building a virtual model of my world, specifically the Hall of Masters (a secret domed forest hidden beneath an inland sea).  It’s exciting to be able to “walk” through and “see” what it sort of looks like for my characters. When we’re done, I hope to create a youtube video tour!

(note, my Husband may be addicted to minecraft TNT…)

 

Timothy C. Ward

Title: Order After Dark
Condition: 1st Draft
Current Word Count: 8,000
Total Word Count: 70,000
Projected finish: 9/1/13

One sentence blurb/premise for your current WIP: Order mage on the run from his priestess fights the rise of chaos and his self doubts about stopping it.

Biggest Challenge you’ve faced last month: That was my month off from Kaimerus, and it was hard not writing for three weeks. I spent my time brainstorming the above WIP, reading, and in the last week managed 8k written.

Biggest Encouragement/Best thing that happened: I’m in full time edit mode to polish Kaimerus, am pumped about it, and am liking that the WIP can sit on my subconscious backburner.

A Helpful Link to Pass along: www.adventuresinscifipublishing.com I’m building a team of reviewers and bloggers to go along with the podcast. It is exhausting, but exciting to see what I can do with that large of an audience.

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

Leave a Reply

