1 Comment

Why I Write – Part 2

Two weeks ago I mentioned that I write because it’s rare that I find the kind of books I want to read. But that’s obviously not the only reason I write. Nor the main reason.

In the comments on that post, someone mentioned that they write because they must. I concur.

I write because I’m a storyteller.

Storytelling

I love history. To me it’s not simply a recounting of events. Imagining how real people felt going through the amazing events of history is like a movie in my mind.

I love the Bible. I don’t understand how anyone can find it boring. When I read it, tons of movie-like scenes spring to mind. I love to study culture, language, and geography to flesh our those scenes more accurately. And as a Pastor I love to teach what I’ve learned so that those pages come alive to those who hear.

I love to tell a story. It’s a part of who I am. Who God created me to be.

As such, there’s always a crazy idea bouncing around in my head. “What if” isn’t a question I must force myself to ask when it comes to creating stories. It’s a permanent way of thinking.

Some people see or hear things, and they’re inspired to paint. Others compose music. I turn to the blank page, which becomes fertile ground for the seeds in my mind.

I write because it’s who I am. There’s too many stories inside of me to not 🙂

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

One comment on “Why I Write – Part 2

Leave a Reply

