4 Comments

You’re Invited to a Ball . . .

file8821307382152To be honest, I didn’t have a post for today. My mom is visiting this week, and the end of the month is always stressful.

Right now, my mom and I are both trying to wake up after staying up til 2 in the morning. Yeah–2. Then a storm swept through at about 6:30. Mornings like this I wish I were a coffee drinker.

Anyway, so I was thinking. The Realm Maker’s conference is coming up in just over 30 days. Yay! One of the highlights of this writer’s conference for speculative fiction writers is the costume ball. I’m planning to dress up (if I can make/find the right dress) as the heroine from my WIP.

What about you?

You’re invited to a costume ball–what/who do you go as?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

4 comments on “You’re Invited to a Ball . . .

  1. I have no idea, but I would love to. 🙂

  2. I’m going as a Doctor Who character this year…perhaps next year I will do something steampunky. I’ve been contemplating a Steampunked Mad Hatter. 🙂
    But if I were invited to a really fancy ball, I’d go in a sweeping peacock-themed ball gown, complete with mask & feathers in my hair.

  3. I have considered wearing my full-on ball gown, now that I can fit into it again. 😉 But it would require a whole other suitcase all its own, so I’m thinking no, since on AirTran the number of free checked bags you get is zero. Instead, I will wear a medieval-style princess dress that’s left over from a couple of Halloweens ago. Not as elaborate, so it packs into a much smaller space.

  4. I have long entertained the idea of attending a pagan convention dressed as a “priestess of the Most High God”. I always imagined some sort of long, flowing robe with a sash and long monk sleeves and hood. They’d probably mistake me for some sort of druid, though. Ha!

Leave a Reply

