4 Comments

A Day in the Life of Tim

It’s been a while since I’ve made time to blog here, but I’ve been very busy. Life has been filled with many blessings. I’m now a published author, if only self-published for now, as my short story, Cornhusker: Demon Gene is now on Kindle, but will eventually be in the Monsters! anthology by A Flame in the Dark. My focus of late has been on novels. I wrote “The End” on Kaimerus June 1st, and just printed out the first chapter to begin my polishing draft before sending it to beta readers. I took about three weeks off and in that time brainstormed my next novel, Order After Dark, which I have been doing well at getting in over 1,200 words a day. My current writing goals are to maintain that pace with OAD and try to edit a chapter a day. Oh, and I’m also the newly appointed Executive Producer of the Adventures in SciFi Publishing podcast, which has taken up a lot of time in the transition setting up a review/blogging team and sending out emails to publicists and people interested in sponsoring the show (deal through July 1st).

With all that work in mind, here’s how I approach my day:

Getting to work as a security guard by 7am, I don’t do anything but get ready and try and be there on time. Then it’s coffee and devotions and saying hi to the people that walk by my desk in the front lobby. After that, I write and read, pretty simple. I’m blessed with this job, I know, and am thankful for my wife having a better paying job that includes insurance. I’ve been in this business for four years, and can’t thank God enough for the thousands of hours it has provided me to write. I’ve also been married that whole time, and having a day time job so I can be home with my wife in the evenings is such a blessing. I understand her needs for me to be around, so being able to write at work gives me more time (usually) to be with her at home.

AISFP_300x300Because I get my writing done at work (trust me, they’re cool with that. I’m actually a very good employee and only write when it’s slow… which is a lot of the time), I am free to network and read in the evenings. I struggle with working too much, and often am working until past my bedtime. I’ve been podcasting for three years, and enjoy the balance of writing in the day and then talking to writers at night and/or editing podcasts. Podcast producing takes up a lot of time, two to three times the amount of time the show actually runs (if you don’t count that I try and read the interviewee’s books and research other interviews to make mine special).

I’ll make a quick plug for my diet and exercise. It’s important with all our sitting that we try and stay in shape. I inherited a pretty crumby metabolism, heart issues and depression, so exercising and dieting is very important to my productivity and longevity. I started Farrell’s Extreme Bodyshaping last Fall. They showed me the benefit of eating six times a day (giving me a guage of how much protein and carbs, more of the former), and even though I’ve been injured for the last six months, I have not gained much weight back. The lesson on my injury is to include more days off and to stretch more before kicking above my head (I know. Ouch). I didn’t think the diet would be sufficient–low carbs on a brain intensive schedule didn’t seem like a good combo–but after a few weeks, I adjusted, and now prefer having a more stable consumption of nutrients. I am quite grumpy after six or more hours without food, and with this diet I rarely reach four hours between meals. Plus, I’m super buff now, yo (just kidding).

Oh, and can I share something with you if you promise not to mention it on Facebook or Twitter? Promise?

Okay, another aspect of my daily life, now, is that my wife is 13 weeks pregnant. Boom.

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward is a Hugo nominated producer for Adventures in SciFi Publishing, who has been lost, broke and surfed with sharks on the other side of the world. He now dreams of greater adventures from his keyboard in Des Moines, Iowa. This summer he released two novels: his second Sand Divers book, Scavenger: A.I., where two parents use an ancient technology to fight a reproducing A.I. while trying to resurrect their deceased infant; and Godsknife: Revolt, an apocalyptic battle for godhood in the rift between Iowa and the Abyss.

4 comments on “A Day in the Life of Tim

  1. That’s great, Tim! Congratulations! Must’ve been tough saving that for the punch line, but totally worth it from a reader perspective. 😉

    Nice to have a job where you can write. God is so good.

  2. Congrats on both the story & the baby! 🙂

  3. Love this.

Leave a Reply

