6 Comments

A Day in the Life of . . . Ralene!

PIC1068506062I hope you all enjoyed the humorous look at the life of a writer in my last couple of posts. Of course, they were playful exaggerations of some real life circumstances we face. Most of the time, though, our lives are a lot closer to normal. So, I thought I’d give you a peek into my life (it’s not quite as adventurous, but it can definitely be just as funny).

I consider myself a structured person. I thrive one schedules and lists and routines. I’m not a big fan of big changes (which is why I freaked out every time we had to move for the military), but I can be flexible when need be. Flexibility is a necessity since I’m balancing the various-sized plates of wife, mother, homeschooler, writer, editor, student, and house manager. So it’s only suitable that I show you how unstructured my structured day is.

5:30 a. m.: UP AND AT ‘EM (or hit the snooze button) If I manage to get up, I would have my quiet time and then start working on whatever business is most pressing, but ideally on my own work in progress.

6:30 a.m.: This is the alternate wake up time, especially if I was up late. I prefer to have time to wake up before the kids start bouncing around.

7:00: The kids are up by now (on their own). I start breakfast. We are “trying” to keep to a more primal diet, which means I cook most mornings.

8:00: Breakfast is done and cleaned up. I sit down for about a half hour or so of social media interaction. I read in several different places that the best time to post something on sites like Facebook and Twitter is after 8 in the morning. Kids run around like crazy monkeys.

8:30: Morning routine and chores–everyone gets ready for the day, makes their beds, screams, fights, and then does their morning chore. If they finish before 9 (*snicker*), they can play.

9:00: School bell rings (not literally). We settle down for a few hours of learning and growing. Sometimes, we even get it all done!

12:00: Lunch! Everyone makes a break for the kitchen, only to find it’s chicken nuggets and homemade french fries . . . again. Poor kids. At least the fruit changes.

1:00: I sit down to work–a little bit of editing, homework, emails, etc. throughout the afternoon. Kids are usually outside or having quiet time. Quiet being the goal, not the reality.

3:00: Snack time!

4:00: I get off the computer to spend some time with the kids or clean–whichever is more demanding in the moment.

5:00: Dinner prep begins, and then we eat.

6:00: After dinner clean up is finished, we have reading time. Kids read to me (or Daddy), we read to the kids, they read to themselves. Fun stuff!

7:00: Bedtime routine. Baths, clean up, teeth brushed, etc. If they have time left, they can watch a cartoon before bed.

8:00: Bedtime for the boy.

8:30: Bedtime for the girls. FREEDOM! Now, I wish I could say that I get back to work at this point, but quite honestly, I am so exhausted from all the craziness of the day that I settle on the couch and turn on the TV or pull out a book.

10:00: The time I’m supposed to go to bed.

10:45ish: The time I usually go to bed.

See–it really is all just as normal as the next person. One big change on the horizon for us is my husband returning to work. After a year of changes, he is looking for a job. Then he’ll be working full time and going to school 3 nights a week. That means even more fun for me! And probably less writing time . . .

You know, a funny thing, although I’m very structured with my daily life, I’m such a panster when it comes to my own writing. 

What about you? Do you find that you need structure, or do you work well on the fly?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

6 comments on “A Day in the Life of . . . Ralene!

  1. Sounds about right! With 5 kids 6 and under, it’s hard to find time to write. Raising them and being a good father is the most important and eternally lasting thing I do. Yet if I dont get new words of fiction written, I feel like the day was wasted.

    • I thought 3 under 5 (a couple of years ago) was nuts–but 5 under 6 would definitely be time consuming (and fun!). It sounds like your priorities are straight, though, and that is the most important thing.

      I find if I don’t write at least something a few times a week, I start to go a little cukoo!

  2. Thanks for the peek into your life. Looks pretty familiar! Including the “flexibility” of it all!

  3. Did you follow Dean Wesley Smith’s blog series where he blogged writing a whole book in 10 days? The series starts here: http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/?p=8935

    Of course, he only has to care for a furry feline. =)

    But seriously, I had to remember that pesky commandment – do not envy.

  4. Thanks! I’ll have to check it out. Of course, the less responsibilities you have, the more time you can commit. I’d have to get out of the house to even attempt a book in 10 days.

Leave a Reply

