1 Comment

I Think I Can

The_Little_Engine_That_CouldI’m a sprinter.

I have a hard time with pacing myself and with staying committed with something long-term. I’m not good at consistency, doing a little at a time, and getting things done slowly but surely. I’m definitely the Hare in The Tortoise and the Hare. I do short, quick bursts, being very effective and productive, but then those bursts are followed by long, slow, dragged-out pauses. The Hare snoozing under a tree, knowing he’ll have plenty of time to catch up to the Tortoise later. And the longer I snooze in between, the harder it is to get up and run again.

This isn’t just about exercise, obviously.

Nay, as with most posts here, this is about writing.

I had this goal set to finish the book I’m currently working on (and possibly another) before Realm Makers. I set my “finish” date on the WIP report for the end of one month, and when I didn’t make it, for the end of the next, and the next.

This month, I was bound and determined, I’m going to get this bad boy DONE! The first week of June, I was on fire. I set goals, I wrote almost every day, got huge passages written, gave myself some wrist-cramping in the process, and genuinely felt good about the progress I was making.

….And then there was life.

Babysitting one day (four besides my own, so I had eight in the house, including a 2-month-old, and really, how does one get anything done when there is an infant to snuggle and coo at?), followed by preparing for company to come into town, followed by two days of being miserably sick, in the midst of which company arrived, VBS at church began, and we began to make preparations for our own summer vacation.

Needless to say, this week has been somewhat less productive than last.

But I am still motivated. I can do this.

I am going to get this done. I am going to get this done. I am going to get this done.

Even if it takes me several more sprints and subsequent pauses, I will finish this thing.

I can do this.

I think I can.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

One comment on “I Think I Can

  1. […] a novel is a marathon, not a sprint, we’re told, our resident sprinter notwithstanding. Most of us complete novels a teeny bit at a time. And it can often seem to take […]

Leave a Reply

