2 Comments

Deadline

deadlineAs with many procrastinators, I work well under a deadline. For example, I typically write these weekly Thursday blog posts on Wednesday nights. In college, I usually stayed up all night the night before a paper or test was due writing or studying.

Unfortunately, this bad habit of not pacing myself bleeds over into everything I do. My kids’ homework projects that they need help with, bedtime (for myself, mainly, but sometimes the kids too), getting to places on time.

And writing.

I love to write. It’s my passion and one of my greatest joys. I love watching a story unfold, getting to know my characters, and seeing my ideas take flight. Unfortunately, I am easily distracted and I have so many ideas it’s hard to focus on one. Therefore, I have a very hard time finishing projects. I have several stories that I’ve started and never finished. So at the moment I’m a one-trick-pony. I’ve been sitting on Dying for Dragons for years, hoping something will eventually come of it, all other projects lying in a half-finished heap, like when you forget to put the clothes from the washer into the dryer and they start to smell like mildew.

But now I have a deadline.

I’m officially signed up for the Realm Makers conference in August. And most of the people there have already seen Dragons, so I have to have something new and fresh to show off. That gives me two months. I have two and a half projects to complete before them. The half is the children’s story I wrote. It’s finished, I just need to do some more editing on it  to have it shiny. The other two are novels that I started at various points and never got around to finishing. One is a supernatural Frank Peretti-esque end-of-the-world story, and the other is a (shhh! I hate admitting this!) YA romance.

I’ve been focusing mainly on the supernatural one, The Days of Noah (you can see my progress in the monthly WIP report posts). I decided rather than having two not-quite-finished stories when the conference rolls around, to do one at a time, and if I don’t have the other one done, so be it.

So, from now until it’s done, I’ll be pounding away at The Days of Noah, and then I’ll be working on Sleeper, my (shudder) girly one.

Wish me luck! And I’ll see some of you at Realm Makers in two months!

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

2 comments on “Deadline

  1. You and I are an awful lot alike. I hope that doesn’t scare you too much.

Leave a Reply

