3 Comments

Writing is Fun

I started writing stories in High School. A bunch of my friends who were fantasy geeks dabbled in the occult like me. I had an epic story idea rattling around in my head and the audacity to think my age didn’t matter. I ended up completing three large novels and was halfway through book four in my Sophomore year.

I’m not sure what happened to those books. One of my friends asked for them when I decided to stop writing. Where they are I’ll never know. I stopped writing because I became a Christian around that time and what I had written embarrassed me. Not before others, but before God. I didn’t want to write (or read) about things that were foul anymore. So, I made a clean break.

Four years later, the itch returned. I took a creative writing classes in my second year of college. My professor loved my poems, but my stories lacked that creative spark. I was too afraid of touching something I didn’t want go back to.

Years later, after I grew up a bit, I realized it was safe for me to write again. Not because it wasn’t before then, but because I was far enough away from my past that I could see things a bit more clearly.

Fun

I love to write.

And there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m not proud of what I wrote back then, but it wasn’t work to sit down and pen the images floating around in my mind. Huge spiral notebooks were nothing to pound out. And I had to keep going because the previous spirals were being passed around the school to be read by classmates. Often they ended up as characters in the story. And I did my best to make each one of their deaths meaningful 🙂

When I picked up writing again, it was the same. Except I didn’t have readers to spur me on. I tried to get my bride to read it, but to be fair to her, the start was annoyingly slow.

I still wrote.

Why? Because I love to write. My impetus for seeking publication came when my wife did get around to reading it. She loved my story and asked me to pray about writing as a profession.

But in the end, it always comes back to the joy I find in writing.

I have cool stories to tell. To me, if to no one else. And the only way to do that is to sit down and put it on the computer screen.

Yes, there’s writer’s block – especially now that I’m trying to write well. Yes, sometimes I don’t initially feel like writing. But once I sit down and start tapping on the keyboard, something magical takes place.

So as I take my daughter to dance class today, my laptop will go with me. I’ll watch them whisk my little princess away to her class, and then I will write. Normally, that means Book 2 of the Godslayer series. But today there’s this really cool short story idea in my head that I can’t get away from.

Don’t forget that writing is fun!

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

3 comments on “Writing is Fun

  1. The line about giving them all meaningful deaths cracked me up. Nowadays you’d write it all on fanfiction.net or Wattpad. 🙂 I’m glad you’ve gotten some distance from those days, though. The big deal was that you wrote stories and finished them. Especially the finishing part.

  2. That’s awesome you started so young! I’m just 19 and I started writing my first fantasy. I see how difficult it is but so far I am loving it!

  3. I get this! I started 10 years ago using a pen and notebook. I threw it away but the seeds of my main characters resurfaced 8 years later in a completely different story. Laptop goes with me on the Mom shuttle.

Leave a Reply

