Leave a comment

Doodle-A-Plot

RinaI’m a doodler.

When I was in college I doodled on class hand-outs and notes, on scrap paper, textbooks–anything that happened to be handy. Anymore, it’s mostly sermon notes or bulletin inserts, scratch paper–again, anything available. I’m a kinesthetic learner, meaning I learn by doing.

I actually have a hard time concentrating (on a lecture, sermon, etc.) if I have to sit still. I listen and retain better if I’m doing something while I listen.

One thing I’ve gotten out of the habit of doing, though, is doodling in the margins of my manuscripts. I used to do that a lot. I would sketch characters or scenes, and as I sketched, I’d plot out story lines. It was a great way to come up with plots. I wrote entire scenes in my head while doodling a small aspect of that plot line.

It’s a practice I’d like to get back to, not just because I enjoy doodling, but because I think my stories are fuller and richer when I’m sketching them, and I’m more detailed when I’m picturing on paper what I’m picturing in my head.

In that spirit, I sat down today to sketch Rina, the heroine from my Amulet Saga series. So, the attached sketch (which will likely be featured in the anthology, whenever it comes out) is of Rina.

What do you do to help you plotstorm?

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

Leave a Reply

