Leave a comment

Thinking Ahead

Warning – This post might ramble a bit.

Now that I’m about to send in my stuff to the publisher, I’ve gotten back to writing book two of the Godslayer series. But I’ve also come to the realization that I need to revamp my personal website. Originally, it was simply a blog entitled Rejoice Evermore which contained devotional posts about being thankful. That changed when I started to find some success in my writing career. While I continued to post devotionals, cool ideas of how to interact with readers flooded my mind.

So, I began researching author websites.

Personally, I’m not much of an internet reader. I don’t follow many authors, even those who I loyally read. Unless a website wow’s me, I tend to not come back because it’s too much time. I know others do like to read blogs or author pages though, and I think it would be tons of fun to create ways for readers to interact.

chess

Here’s a few things I’ve gleaned.

Rebecca Miller posts a lot about Christian speculative fiction, and I always find her words thought-provoking, encouraging, and challenging. Technically, I don’t follow her blog for her stories, which shows that readers are looking for a bit on what we think about life and not just our stories. I want to incorporate my devotionals in some way, even if it’s just a tab on top of the page.

Brandon Sanderson brings me back to his website regularly, but solely for his fiction writing. Of course he stole all my good ideas, but that doesn’t mean I can’t use them. I always wanted to share the music I listen to while I write or side stories that didn’t make it into the novel. He doesn’t blog per se, but he often gives readers sneak peaks through annotations, book signing video’s, etc. About a month ago, he started releasing video’s of him writing his new novel, which I thought was super cool.

I think it’s expected that an author have a website, but with so much competition out there for people’s time, I’m concerned that an obligatory website would go more unnoticed than add anything. Which means it requires some love. Primarily, writers need to write. But if I’m going to have a website, why not make it something interesting?

I guess I’m wondering this: What makes you go back to an author’s website? What would you like to see author’s have on their website?

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

Leave a Reply

