1 Comment

Family Time

LegolandMy family lives a state away, and my husband’s family lives a couple states away in the opposite direction. Therefore, 99.9% of our family vacations and holidays involve us traveling to visit one side or the other, or us staying home while one side or the other comes to visit us.

We haven’t really ever had a family vacation that was just our nuclear family going somewhere for the fun of it. Don’t get me wrong, we love visiting grandparents, and we’ve done some fun things while visiting one side or the other, including camping, visiting aquariums and zoos and science centers, and doing all sorts of fun things with extended family, but we haven’t done something with just us.

That changed this week. As you’re reading this, we’re in the car on the way home from two days at Legoland.

This was important for me to do with the  family. Aside from the wonderful family time doing something just us, taking a trip just for us to bond and have fun, we got to do something we normally don’t have the time or money to do. We’ve never taken the kids to Disneyland. We’ve never even taken them to the local amusement park. The best we’ve done is the little carnival that comes to the Catholic church down the street from our old house.

And I felt like my kids were missing out, especially since they love amusement park rides, and any time we pass a carnival or amusement park or fair ground, they beg to get to go on the rides. Now, I know how spoiled and American it makes me sound to whine about how we can’t afford to go to Disneyland and how my kids are missing out, but I really want to be able to do fun things with my kids, and make these memories with them while they’re young. A few more years and my oldest will have outgrown the thrill of Legos and Legoland will be a thing of childhood.

So, when the opportunity arose for us to make this trip, I did all I could to make it happen. These moments of childhood are so fleeting, I am eager to make the most of them whenever I can. And, I like to think that in giving good gifts to my children I am, at least in a small way, reflecting the good gifts our Father gives to us.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

One comment on “Family Time

  1. […] Family Time (newauthors.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

