2 Comments

All Dressed Up

At some point the book must be finished.

As I finished tinkering with the things I need to send to Oak Tara, I noticed a sentence in my book that could use re-tooling. Then a horrible thought entered my mind.

What if there’s other sentences that need re-tooling?

There probably are.

But I’ll feel that way until the day I die. It will never be “perfect”. At some point, I have to send it off.

I told myself I wanted this sent off by the end of March. I’ve gone over and over each line until I could quote most of the book by heart. It’s all dressed up. It’s time for Cinderella to go to the ball.

Cinderella

I imagine there’s moments like this throughout a writing career. Pitching at a conference. Querying an agent or magazine. Sending off your manuscript. I remember being terrified at all these points. Once you hit send, you can’t “un-send” it. Once you make that first impression, that’s it. What if it doesn’t go well?

I’ve always been a fairly person. My family tends to speak its mind and rush in where angels fear tread. But writing was harder. It was almost too personal to go in with confidence. Too exposed. Going to that first conference terrified me. Writing my first query letter took me more time than writing the short story I was pitching. I took a week to compose my submission email to Oak Tara.

And now I’m here again. It’s go time. After this, there will be opportunities to work on things, but nothing major. The manuscript I send off will be very close to the one that goes to print. Then, it’ll be up to readers to decide – the most awesome submission of all 🙂

I wish I could say those query letters and conferences went well. Some did. But most had painful moments too. My hope is that seeing my book in print will have more exciting moments than painful ones.

I wouldn’t trade it though. Going to the ball can be nerve-wracking, but it’s better than staying at home. Arriving might have some awkward moments. It might even have embarrassing moments. Putting yourself out there is risky. But there’s no reward for getting dressed up nice. The only way to dance with the prince is to go.

Ahem. I think I need to go push a semi around the block after all this Cinderella talk.

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

2 comments on “All Dressed Up

  1. Thanks so much for this post! Just what I needed to hear, as I’m summoning the courage to start querying my fairy tale series, and self-publish a short story. Both are nerve-wracking for a perfectionist.
    I shared this on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

