4 Comments

Preparing for the Future, Part 2

Abstract_3_zLast week, I hinted (quite heavily) that I have a major change coming up, one that requires pre-planning on the part of my family. And then I was nice enough not to tell you. I’m just all sorts of crazy fun.

I won’t keep you in suspense any longer.

My family will be actively pursuing adoption in 2014!

My husband and I have been talking about adoption for years. Due to a misunderstanding between my mom and I, I thought that I couldn’t have kids. So, from the beginning, my husband and I knew we would eventually adopt children. However, then my three bundles of joy bounded into the picture. Big surprises, even bigger joys! Adoption got put in the back corner. I’m not even sure it was even in my husband’s mind anymore.

That ache still lingered in my heart though. Knowing how many children out there don’t have someone to tuck them in, a family to lean on, or parents to trust to protect them. Some have never even known love–at all. My heart breaks, and then I want to bring all of them into my home. Not really an option, though.

I’ve tried talking to my husband about it in the last few years, but his response has been lackluster at best. I think he was having trouble seeing the bigger picture beyond the piles of diapers, dirty clothes, and screaming kids (who are now 7, 6, and 2 1/2).

Finally, in January, I brought it up to my husband again, and he was actually excited about it! And after some discussions last week, we have a plan.

See, we can’t really afford to adopt right now–and not just because of how much the actual adoption costs, but because our budget won’t allow for another child. That’s where the planning comes in. There’s going to be a lot of changes over the next year. A lot. We figured we’d give ourselves a year to get settled into our new home, to get our finances and our lives outside the military together. That’s also a year to learn about adoption, pray for God’s guidance, and prepare ourselves and our kids for accepting a new child into our home.

And then, in 2014, we’ll take the first step to becoming a family of 6 and approach our chosen adoption agency.

What an exciting time!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

4 comments on “Preparing for the Future, Part 2

  1. Woohoooooo! That is so exciting! I can’t wait to see it unfold. Congratulations. 🙂

  2. Yeah! Good luck as you plan and prepare for another family member! God will make sure that you can make it work if it is His plan.

  3. How exciting Ralene! My bride and I are in the beginning stages of adopting a little girl from India. Our story is similar to yours – We’ll be keeping you in prayer!

Leave a Reply

