Leave a comment

My Story Part 8–The Wedding

This is the part all the gals have been waiting for… 😉

To be honest, I don’t remember much about our wedding day. I slept well the night before, partially because I was exhausted from decorating, the rehearsal, and the rehearsal dinner. At some point I got up and got breakfast, but I have a big blank in my mind until I arrived at the church mid-morning.

Knowing me, I probably fell back asleep in the car. 🙂

My friends were quite insistent that I could not see Justin at all that day until I walked down the aisle at 3 in the afternoon. Since neither of us had text, we communicated by sending Justin’s younger brothers as messengers back and forth the entire day as he finished setting things up and I fidgeted in front of a mirror.

Once some of my extended family arrived, a younger cousin, Luke, attached himself to Justin for most of the day. Luke followed him around while he was getting ready and while he and the groomsmen had pictures taken. Justin finally started using Luke as a messenger as well, hoping to get him out from underfoot, but Luke always popped back up.

I wasn’t nervous the entire day, but I could tell that my bridesmaids (my sister and Justin’s two older sisters) were all jittery. None of them are fond of being in front of crowds, and to top it off, my sister knew that as my maid of honor, she was in charge of Justin’s ring (I remember her scouring the front of the church to make sure there were no air vents or ducts the ring could roll into if she ended up dropping it.) So I was really grateful that our two photographers, Owen and Monica, cracked jokes and made us all laugh during our pictures.

About the time we finished with bridesmaid pictures, people were starting to arrive, so I got whisked back to the dressing room to sit and wait. The only time I remember getting jittery was when my dad came and got me…I fussed with my hair, my makeup, and my dress one last time before stepping up to the sanctuary doors.

True to form, as the doors opened and the quartet began playing Pachabel’s Canon in D, my dad leaned over and whispered something funny in my ear. I don’t remember what he said, but I do remember giggling as we stepped into the sanctuary.

Our ceremony was very simple and short, and the best part was when we said our vows. Justin didn’t realize his vows weren’t finished and his brother had to nudge him before he realized there was more he was supposed to say. We had our first kiss (yes…our very first kiss) and I forgot to retrieve my bouquet from my sister, so his brother ran down the aisle after us and handed it off to me.

When we cut our cake, Justin stuffed a really big piece of cake into my mouth, so I retaliated by smearing his cheek with frosting. We didn’t have a very long reception, so before two hours were up we were running through a rain of rice to our decorated car. No one warned me how uncomfortable rice could be when it gets down the back of your gown. 😉

Our siblings had written “Honk, Just Married” on the back window of our car, and as we drove, we had sooo many people honking at us. We even had a biker pull up beside Justin’s window and give him a thumbs-up. 😀

It was a crazy journey, but a wonderful one. I’m so thankful God guided me to the right guy! We’ve been married for 3 years, and I’m 3 weeks  away from the due date for our second little one. Our adventure has just begun, and we’re super excited to see where God continues to lead us. 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

