6 Comments

Preparing for the Future

Abstract_3_zI feel like I’ve been in a perpetual season of change.

Change, in one form or another, has plagued my life or has been just on the horizon for the past 2 years. Hawaii, my husband’s medical issues, getting out of the military, settling in a “permanent” home on the mainland. A never-ending string of what’s next and what ifs.

We are just now settling down after the craziest 2 years of my life and already I feel the nudge. Something new is on the horizon. A change is coming.

I switched browsers this weekend. Yeah, it was about time. I have been using Internet Explore since, well, forever. But lately, a lot of stuff i’ve tried to do on the internet just isn’t supported by IE. Then Google announced the coming closure of Google Reader. Much like many, I assume, I started researching the best replacement. I couldn’t find one that I liked that used IE. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. Yesterday, I finally pulled up Google Chrome. Hey, I kind of like it.

Now, that’s not the change that’s coming.

See, I tend to be resistant to change. I can be very Type-A when I want to be. Yet, when I know that a big change is coming, something that is really going to shake up my life, I’m suddenly Susy Spontaneous! Any little thing that I might have been thinking about changing, any spark of “hey, that’s a good idea”–this is the time that I am most open to it.

I can tell already that that particular character trait is definitely a God-thing. This change on the horizon is possibly the biggest life somersault since my husband and I decided to have kids. This particular life change will require preparation. And these preparations will require diligence, self-restraint, and prayer–not to mention lots of research, learning, and growing. Lots of little changes will result in a huge change.

(Man, I wonder if I’ve broken the world record for the number of times the word “change” is used in a blog post.)

So, what is this big change you ask?

Well, I don’t think I want to tell you. I think I”ll make you wait. Until next week.

Muahahaha…

Are you pretty open to change? Do you like to know well in advance if changes are coming?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

6 comments on “Preparing for the Future

  1. Not funny, Ralene.I’m open to change, as long as… to be continued, mhuahahaha

  2. I see how you are, lol. I can’t wait to hear what this change is. I personally love change but I know not everyone does.

  3. You are cruel, Ralene! 😉
    I like change. Sometimes I might grumble a bit about it, but I always view it as an adventure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

