9 Comments

They Really Like Me

Okay, that’s a bit melodramatic even for me.

But it’s one of the things writers crave for. We’re happy when we’re able to get our crazy thoughts onto the page. It’s cool when someone likes our idea or thinks our stories are awesome. But it’s a bit different when someone in the industry says they like your work. Whether it’s an award, a request for more of your story, or publication, it’s a special feeling to be recognized by those who are gatekeepers or champions of the writing industry.

They really like me!

They really like me!

I still remember the night I won novel of the year at the 2012 Florida Christian Writer’s Conference. My appointments had gone less than stellar. The manuscript feedback from authors/agents came back good, but not good enough. I went into awards night with a yucky attitude. I remember sitting in the back row next to my new critique partner, Kristen Stieffel, as the awards started. I wasn’t expecting anything, but the Lord was dealing with me.

They announced the next award. Novel of the Year. I remember a very specific phrase I “thought” to the Lord.

“God, it would be really cool to win for once.”

I’d been a runner up in three contests, and a semi-finalist in Genesis the previous year. They liked my stuff a little, but not quite a enough. When that reminder popped in my head, my immediate follow-up thought wasn’t exactly positive.

“That will never happen. Ever.”

Then they called my name.

I was so startled I looked at Kristen in disbelief. I don’t remember walking up to the podium, but I do have the certificate to prove it happened.

They really liked me this time.

Maybe I’m unique as a writer. But that meant so much to me. I know we write for an audience of One in the sense that my ultimate goal is to please God. However, I think we’d be ignoring the human element of us that longs to do well at the things we’re doing to please God. I want to be the very best writer I can be. And while the encouraging words of friends or family is great, there is something really special about a professional giving you a nod of approval.

Last Thursday I received a contract offer for Soul Yearning. I promise not to go into a Sally Field fit, however, I’m pretty excited.

Somebody really liked it 🙂

Now comes the hard work of turning it into something that a lot of somebody’s like.

 

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

9 comments on “They Really Like Me

  1. Congrats, Will. I feel good knowing your hard work paid off. Keep it up!

  2. YAY!!!!!!!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!! I realize I’ve broken every rule for all caps and exclamation points, but I feel completely justified!

  3. You deserve it, my brother. It’s been a joy being on this insane quest with you this last year and a half. 🙂

    • Thanks Kristen – Coming from you that’s a great honor as you’re one of the best writer’s I’ve met. Pretty cool that we’re getting to do this publishing thing along the same lines.

  4. Go William! Hi Kristin!!! Congrats!!!

  5. Congratulations!!! Now the real work begins. 🙂

Leave a Reply

