5 Comments

Busy Writer Says Hi

AudioTimIt’s been awhile since I’ve posted here. Sorry about that. Consider it my way of nudging you to spend less time on the internet and more time reading fiction and writing. That’s all I’m doing, really… well, that and podcasting, and marathon watching Breaking Bad until I’m through Season Four and think no other show can be as awesome as that.

No big theme for this week’s post besides catching you up on my journey toward being a full-time author. Michael J. Sullivan just posted a helpful article “Don’t Quit Your Day Job – Traditional Publishing By The Numbers,” but I still hope to some day, though maybe not through traditional publishing. More and more I’m either leaning toward self-publishing, or joining something like Evolved Publishing’s model and its consistency of quality and author-friendly terms. I’m not sold on traditional publishing being the only way for me to produce the best story. I want top notch editing and cover work, and honest rights. We’ll see where I end up. I like having final say, too, so it could be self-publishing.

How’s that for a quick summary of traditional versus self-pub?

I still have time to make my decision. I had a great day of editing today, reaching my 1% goal, which I rarely do anymore. Do you remember my post, “Living with 1% a Day?” I’ve been tracking my percentage each day since November, and I’m averaging 3% a week. This has been difficult because I’m afraid I’m taking too long, but I couldn’t be happier with my progress, realistically. By that I mean I know I have another draft or two after this, but I’m seeing major growth, and I’m making sure each scene is given the attention it needs. This means I’m accounting for science, background information, time passing, description and world building, character arcs, etc. This is a much slower process than blazing through a first draft, even though I’m essentially writing each scene from “scratch.” I say “scratch” because I know where I’m going, but I’m rewriting, not just fixing word choices.

I’m at 71%, and feeling the downhill push as action ramps up–ha! this whole thing is action, but somehow, it is still increasing, thank God. I’m adding more internal monologue in this pass, and am enjoying how it is expanding the characters’ arcs and quickening their change. The romance aspect is better, and I’m loving the battle between mother and oldest son as they fight each other telepathically.

I’m reading a lot, as well. A lot of times I don’t post because I need to read, write, or am just plain spent from doing both all day. I am now reviewing books for SF Signal, which has been great because of how I’m meeting readers, and for getting a wider audience, both for myself and the authors I’m reviewing. There’s the risk of honest reviews burning bridges, but I don’t usually finish low ranking books anyway.

AudioTim had a great last episode, where I interviewed Mark Tufo, author of Zombie Fallout, and fifteen books total. He’s a fun example of an indie success story. His has been more of a gradual building, which helps keep it more realistic to aspire toward, and he talks about that process. I’m mixing panel interviews from Chicon 7 in between my author interviews, and will be sharing some discussion topics here as a way to stay blogging at the NAF, but doing so without having to write long posts.

Oh, and lastly, I’m pumped about Demicon, a Science Fiction convention in my hometown, Des Moines, IA. Apparently, it’s been going for like twenty years, but I had no idea. I’ve been in contact with the programmer about moderating panels, and am really excited to see what a local con in Des Moines looks like. Well, not that image (remove idea of three people in straw hats riding a tractor into The Country Buffet’s parking lot, while their cow moseys on in behind them, all four chewing straw). I have room at my place for more people if you’re thinking of coming, just ask first ;). David Weber is the special guest. The first book in his Honor Harrington series is free on Amazon, On Basilisk Station.

Puppies.

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward is a Hugo nominated producer for Adventures in SciFi Publishing, who has been lost, broke and surfed with sharks on the other side of the world. He now dreams of greater adventures from his keyboard in Des Moines, Iowa. This summer he released two novels: his second Sand Divers book, Scavenger: A.I., where two parents use an ancient technology to fight a reproducing A.I. while trying to resurrect their deceased infant; and Godsknife: Revolt, an apocalyptic battle for godhood in the rift between Iowa and the Abyss.

5 comments on “Busy Writer Says Hi

  1. Hi, it’s your Mom, sending a telepathic message….did you hear me? No battles cause I am right you know. JK 🙂 Very exciting news that there will be a writers convention in Des Moines. Laughed out loud about your comment of who maybe gathering in the Country Buffet parking lot! BTW it would be a John Deer for sure. Love Hugs

  2. Excellent post Tim. I am writing in my free time and damn is that hard to do… Thanks for the tips over the last year or so!

    • Thanks, Matt! I’m sure we both feel like our dream is taking forever to realize, but the truth is we are, even if it is just in your free time. Stay consistent and you’ll progress. Send me an email sometime with more details on your project tim [at] timothycward [dot] com

Leave a Reply

