Leave a comment

Hallmark Cards

valentine's cardWith Valentine’s Day right around the corner, there are all sorts of ads wherever you look or listen explaining why their product or service is the only possible option for a gift for your special someone for Valentine’s Day.

I know, I know, Valentine’s Day is a fake holiday made up by the diamond and chocolate industries and over-commercialized in order to sell more stuff. But despite that, I still love it. I’m sappy and romantic, and I’m a sucker for Valentine’s Day.

I like hearts on everything. I like wandering up and down the seasonal aisles at the store, browsing through the stuffed animals and heart-shaped boxes of gourmet chocolate. I like browsing through jewelry store catalogs and circling things I like. Even though I know we’ll never be able to afford them, I still like handing the catalogs to my hubby so he knows what I like and what I’d put on my wishlist if we did have the money. I especially like standing in the store reading all the cards. Funny ones, sappy ones, wildly inappropriate ones, the ones for kids. My favorites are the funny ones and the wildly inappropriate ones. My hubby and I typically trade cards with innuendo or humor. I love picking out candy and small presents for the kids. I love looking at all the little trinkets and deciding which ones fit each child’s personality and still is justifiable within my budget. I like the parties at the kids’ school, with the decorating of heart-shaped cookies with too many sprinkles and sharing valentines in shoeboxes covered in pink paper. I love picking out the perfect gift for my hubby–which reminds me, I need to go purchase the gift I picked out for him.

I also like the rare occasions when I’m guaranteed a night out. With four kids and a limited budget, we don’t get to “date” much. Birthdays, anniversary, and Valentine’s Day, though, we get a babysitter and we get to spend a couple of hours alone together.

But the thing I like best about Valentine’s day is presents. I’m a gifts person. It’s one of my primary love languages. I like flowers, even though they die. I like chocolate, even though it makes me fat. I love jewelry. This year on the top of my wishlist is the last book in The Wheel of Time. And despite the over-commercialization, I like the fun cards. I like knowing I’m being thought of, and I like when my hubby picks out something that perfectly defines some aspect of our relationship.

So, yeah, even though it’s a blatant attempt to get me to spend money, I appreciate Valentine’s Day cards, and I buy a couple each year.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

Leave a Reply

