1 Comment

My Story Part 4-It Finally Begins In Earnest

I knew something was up when both my parents woke me up. Normally, all I got was my mom briskly rapping on my door in fifteen-minute intervals, with an altogether-too-cheery voice informing me it was time to get moving.

When they sat down on the edge of my bed, serious looks on their faces, I thought that I was in trouble. My sleepy brain started scanning through the past few days, wondering what the heck I’d done.

Then Dad said, “What do you think of Mr. Justin Titus?”

“Uhhhh…he’s a nice kid,” I sputtered, trying to make sense of why they’d wake me up to talk about Justin.

“Well, that nice kid is interested in courting you.”

And sudden realization hit. That’s why we’d been talking so much lately. That’s why he seemed to spend every available minute hanging out with me or emailing me.

And that’s why I hadn’t been able to get him out of my mind.

I don’t remember much of that day, honestly. My parents were getting ready to leave to meet Justin, Bob, and Tammy again. My siblings were quite ecstatic when they found out what had been going on–my sister informed me that she’d wondered, and my brother said he’d noticed Justin’s interest and had been wondering if he needed to ‘talk’ to him. (Yeah, my little brother is just that awesome.)

Right before my parents left, I gave my mom a hug and whispered, “So, do I get to see him today?”

“Maybe,” was all she said.

After I’d gotten ready for the day, I couldn’t focus on anything, so I grabbed a random book from my shelves and started reading. (The book was The Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell–I still have it, but I haven’t read it since.) After blazing through it in about 2 hours, I meandered aimlessly for a while until my mom called.

“Guess who is following us in his big red Jeep!”

After that, I fluttered around the house straightening things, picking up, and feeling like giant mutant bats were having a barn dance inside my gut. My siblings say they’ve never seen me so flighty and finicky about how things looked.

My parents finally arrived, and I stood on the opposite end of the living room as Justin stepped inside, resisting the urge to chew my fingernails. We said hi and then just stared, our easy camaraderie gone.

“Why don’t you guys go for a walk?” Mom finally suggested.

“Uh, yeah. Do you want to go for a walk with me?” Justin asked.

“Umyeahsurei’dlovetoI’llgogetmycoat,” I rattled back. The barn dance had just devolved into an all-out brawl.

I don’t remember exactly what we talked about on that walk, but I remember Justin telling me that he wanted this to be a serious relationship. He wanted to court me with the intention of marrying me. I remember nodding and feeling tongue-tied and managing to squeak a ‘yes’ when he asked if I wanted to enter into a relationship with him.

And as soon as I said yes, my gut calmed. This felt just right.

(Another funny bit about that day…it was a Sunday, so that night my family attended a Bible study held by some of our closest friends. Justin tagged along with us, and throughout the entire Bible study, everyone kept throwing glances our way, but I was too shy to announce it. I think my brother finally forced us into saying something by announcing that we had something to announce.

Minutes after we announced our courtship, one of my mom’s friends whispered to her that “their kids will have gorgeous eyes.” Can’t deny that, because Justin really does have the most killer brown eyes ever.) 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “My Story Part 4-It Finally Begins In Earnest

  1. I always dreamed my life would have a moment like that in it. Very fun to read. Very brave of everyone.

Leave a Reply

