3 Comments

Preparing for Success

20130125-005358.jpgFor those of you who missed my little story over the last two weeks, I’m registered for my first writers’ conference.

And like Fontine in Les Miserables I’ve sold my hair to finance it. For her it was a beloved child. For me it’s to help the writer in my and my creations.

I’ve already read through all the classes and picked out a schedule. I have about 3 months but at such a cost, you can bet I want to make the most of it. I want to be prepared.

So here’s my plan/goals.

Writing – the product to market
Secret of the Dragon Seal – the novel I’ve been focusing on. I’ve been working on a re-envisionment of the opening scenes. My goal is to get the new stuff written up and hopefully clean up the first three chapters. I am not signed up to do a pitch, but I’d like to be ready.

Jeweler’s Son – a short story that I want to revise and clean up. I figure I can use it as a sample and afterwards, at the very least, it would then be ready to submit to a publisher.

Life has still been busy and writing progress slow.

I’ve joined up with the ROW80 group – A Round of Words in 80 Days. We set and state goals to accomplish in 3 months time and then they do two check-ins per week. You check in by doing a blog post and then posting a link. Thus I have actually started a solo blog – a first for me.

I’ve allowed myself the option of totally re-envisioning it later if I choose so for now, it is mostly focused in my plans for the Conference and my participation in the ROW80. I have called it Rapunzel Project and have done a couple posts about my hair, the cut and how I’m adjusting.

Other things I’m working on having ready:

Business cards. I’ve already been scouting out Vista prints‘ designs and good deals. However, being into art I must say that I want both to have the card look professional but I want my own artwork on it.

So I’ve decided to pursue my ideas of going digital with my art. It’s not a new idea, but it’s taking a lot of adjusting and learning. You’d think in a program as advanced as Adobe Illustrator I’d be able to find a simple airbrush effect. Instead I’ve been watching a bunch of tutorials and exploring the possibilities.

With some of the money from the hair, I bought a Wacom drawing tablet, but haven’t gotten to use it. My laptop probably can’t handle it so I’ve been encroaching on my Husband’s larger desktop.

Website – still toying with ideas and dreams, but not much actual progress on this yet. Worst case scenario leaves me with using my solo blog, but with some tweaks, that could work.

Lots to do and life doesn’t really slow down, at least not around here. At times it is a bit overwhelming. I may actually not get everything done that I would like, but I’m going to try.

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

3 comments on “Preparing for Success

  1. Ren, if you want your art on the business card, try using Zazzle. The last batches of business cards I bought from them turned out beautifully. Their batches are smaller than those sold by Vistaprint, and less expensive. With Zazzle you can upload your art and work with it.

  2. I agree with Heidi, Ren. If you wanted, I would even be happy to help you set up your cards in a professional format.

    Message me on Facebook if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

