3 Comments

Arch-Nemesis

villainDo you have anyone in your life you truly despise?

Until recently, I could honestly say I didn’t have any enemies. Sure, there are plenty of people I don’t really like. A few that I even dislike and strive to avoid. I’ve had my ups and downs with people, and usually we work it out, while other times we’ve ignored the issue and moved on or parted ways. But never, until recently, have I met someone so evil, so vile, that I could truly say they are an enemy.

I won’t go into detail explaining who this person is, or what the circumstances are, but I will say the reason I despise him/her/it is not because of something he/she/it has done to me, but what they have done to someone I love. A few specifics that lead to my intense negative emotions regarding this person involve blatant lies, manipulation of facts, maligning of character, and outright sabotage.

Now, of course, comes the moral dilemma. I have plotted and devised myriad methods of destroying this person’s life. There are plenty of things I could do to exact revenge, ways to make this person’s life miserable and do unto them what they have done to others, and there’s a very good chance I wouldn’t get caught. However, the injured party in this scenario, the one who would have, by the world’s standards, every right to “get even” or return evil for evil, is a much more upstanding character than I am, and has opted to take the higher road, turning the other cheek, letting this person’s behavior carry on and not giving them the dues they deserve.

And so I must learn from their example. Certain phrases like “Love your enemies” and “bless those who curse you” and “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” and “vengeance is mine, says the Lord” and all those sorts of things come to mind. Despite how much I know with my head about God’s will in a situation like this, and despite the fact that I know Jesus had way worse enemies than this and still forgave them, the human part of me can’t stand that such injustice and horrible behavior is allowed to continue without repercussion. I would dearly love to be the instrument of God’s discipline in this person’s life. And, failing that, I would love to see justice served, and be there to rub it in when it happens.

And yes, I know those are horrible, unChristlike thoughts. I know full well the lack of Christian love I am displaying at this moment. Therefore, while I work on my attitude and my heart, I will contain my thirst for vengeance and confine it to a scathing revelation of this person’s character in short-story form.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

3 comments on “Arch-Nemesis

  1. Oh, I feel your dilemma, Avily. Despite how un-Christ-like it is, there is one person I absolutely despise. It started when I was a teen, and while this person’s lies and legalisms were about me, I ignored it. But they’ve moved on to my family–both my families, actually, as my husband’s family knows this person too. I’m not a confrontational person, but hurt those I love, and I turn into a mama lion.
    I honestly think the worst bit is when the person in question pretends nothing has happened when other people are around. I cannot stand hypocrisy, and it annoys me that others see nothing wrong and there’s no way to convince them otherwise.
    When is enough enough? When will people understand how nasty this person is, and how do I keep them from ruining things any more than they already have? I don’t like inaction, yet for the moment, that seems to be all there is.

    • I understand completely! Hence the desire to put this person in a story–it’s a way to vent without doing any actual harm.

  2. Can’t wait to read the story!

Leave a Reply

