Leave a comment

Interview with Author and Cover Artist, Cory Clubb of Go Bold Designs

Cory ClubbI had this grandiose idea to interview some of the authors I met at Ted Dekker’s Ragged Edge conference a few years ago, and, well, Cory is really the only one I’ve kept in contact with. It’s a short interview, but here it is, complete with some of my favorite covers Cory has done.

Cory’s bio: I design book covers for authors. I am also a writer editing my first YA novel. I enjoy nachos, daydreaming, the occasional coffee, and movies. Visit: http://www.coryclubb.com

Tim Ward: The last I knew about your plans, you had a YA novel that you were supposed to meet with an agent about shortly after our conference. Would you mind giving us the title and logline of that novel, and what you’ve done with it since Ragged Edge?

River RisingCory Clubb: Certainly, Tim. The title is Uncanny Day. Nolan Day, a teenager with the ability to read minds, must stop an evil force from devouring them from within.

I’ve rewritten nearly the entire manuscript, since Ragged Edge and meeting with that agent. Some of it was due to the agent’s suggestions, among other reasons I wanted to tell a better story. It was not an easy feat, but it now lays at the mercy of my editor Jeff Gerke.

TW: Ahh, you and I have had similar paths. I too rewrote my novel since Ragged Edge, and it is now at the mercy of one of Jeff Gerke’s apprentices, C.L. Dyck. Is that a substantive edit then? How did you decide on and get Jeff as your editor?

Lost in ShadowsCC: Jeff is doing an Editorial Review on my MS and I hope to get it back mid-October. With my new rewrites I was taking a different approach to the story and wanted fresh eyes on this version. My previous editor was Pam Johnson who edits all author Steven James’ books. I sort of stumbled across Jeff while cruising writing conventions. Lots of people had great things to say about him so I email him and we struck up a deal to exchange freelance talents. I did some design work for him and he’s doing some editing for me. Jeff is very approachable guy, easy going, and smart. I’m glad we were able to work together.

TW: I see you just signed another cover deal (for a three book series).
Congrats! Can you say with whom?

Also what is your approach and intent for covers? What would you say are your strengths?

Second ThoughtsCC: Not sure I should say who, most authors and publishers want to market themselves a certain way and at a certain time. I’m more of a resource for them and their releases. My intent with book covers is to satisfy the client 100% by producing a crisp, bold, eye-catching design that represents the story they have written. The author has a lot of say about how it looks and feels all the way to the final piece. My strengths are typography and that bold factor. With each design I do my best to balance the story and mood whether it be a series or stand alone title. Check out my work at www.coryclubb.com

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward is a Hugo nominated producer for Adventures in SciFi Publishing, who has been lost, broke and surfed with sharks on the other side of the world. He now dreams of greater adventures from his keyboard in Des Moines, Iowa. This summer he released two novels: his second Sand Divers book, Scavenger: A.I., where two parents use an ancient technology to fight a reproducing A.I. while trying to resurrect their deceased infant; and Godsknife: Revolt, an apocalyptic battle for godhood in the rift between Iowa and the Abyss.

Leave a Reply

