2 Comments

Finding New Treasure

This has been an exciting few months for me. The first Hobbit movie came out in December and the last book in the Wheel of Time series came out last week. Only one problem. They aren’t releasing the kindle version of A Memory of Light until April. I don’t buy non-digital books anymore, not unless they’re from a used book store. It’s just not in the budget to do so. The day before A Memory of Light came out, I finally settled in my heart that I’d just have to wait.

New hope came as I was listening to the most recent podcast of Writing Excuses, a 15 minute session about writing from some famous speculative authors. Their book of the week was … A Memory of Light. All I had to do was start my free membership at Audible and I could get the audiobook for free. No waiting required!

I’ve listened to The Lord of the Rings on audiobook, but that was more because I’m a Tolkien junkie who can never have enough of his stuff. I’ve never listened to a new book that way. My mother listens to all novels via audiobook now. I know a bunch of other people who are into them too. But every time I’d see an iPhone commercial with some guy running and listening to an audiobook, I just couldn’t bring myself to think I’d like it.

treasure2

I’m now six chapters in, and I’ve totally enjoyed the experience. The narrators are a little over dramatic at times, but I’m a sucker for that anyway. My bride and kids have laughed when they overheard me listening. But overall, I would definitely do this again. It has its drawbacks, of course. I read faster than the narrators do, so it’s going to take a very long time to finish the book. I can’t listen whenever I want to (waiting in line at the grocery store). At least, I’ll be done before April 🙂

As for the book? I won’t spoil anything, but Sanderson and Jordan have done an amazing job. I’ve choked up three times already, and there’s still forty-something chapters to go. I think the audiobook is slightly guilty for that. The pacing is perfect, not plodding, like some of Jordan’s books just before his death. I’m having an absolute great time listening to the story. It must be pretty cool to hear someone narrate your story.

Which brings me to a final thought. In one of my critique groups, we read each other’s work out loud. It’s amazing how easy it is to spot problems when someone else is reading your work. How cool will it be to have someone narrate my own work? Since listening to A Memory of Light, I’ve wanted to write more. Having dreams can be a great motivator to our work. Don’t let anything crush those dreams. Keep writing, and who knows? Maybe I’ll be listening to your audiobook next!

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

2 comments on “Finding New Treasure

  1. I don’t often listen to audiobooks anymore, now that I no longer have a commute. All my car- and gym-listening time is used for podcasts. I also ran into the “I could read this faster than it’s being read to me” problem, which is why I only listen when I can multitask.

    I would actually prefer to record my own audiobooks, because I’m just a ham that way. 😉

  2. I’d love to listen to more audiobooks, but with small children around, I don’t spend much time with earbuds in. Plus, I’ve been wary of audiobooks ever since we popped a Bill Bryson into the car stereo, and he’d turned a minor swear into a F-bomb. In the first five minutes. With my sister and brothers all laughing and my mom turning bright red. Although I suppose Bill Bryson was a poor choice in audiobooks anyway!

Leave a Reply

