4 Comments

Charging into 2013

DSC_4140I can hardly believe that tomorrow is the first day of 2013–2012 can’t be over yet! I didn’t finish half of what I planned to accomplish. I have so much left undone. Where did the year go?

If you’ve been around here and checked out my posts at all, you know that this has been a year of ups and downs, a serious rollercoaster ride. Sometimes fun, sometimes painful–each day a new surprise. My family moved from Hawaii to the mainland, and I got to go the ACFW conference–YAY! Ray was discharged from the army for medical reasons, and we are still dealing with a bunch of red tape that is hurting us financially with that–BOO! All in all, though, I’ve learned a lot this year.

I’ve learned a lot about my strengths and weaknesses. Some I already knew about, others I discovered. I already knew that I don’t deal well with big changes–however, I’ve realized just how much I will let myself get overwhelmed before I ask for help or back off of responsibilities. I already knew that when I get stressed, I don’t take care of myself physically, but I realized that if I’m not careful, that can start an evil downward spiral that turns into depression before I know it. I already knew how important my family is to me, but I realized just how much love and support I get from them. I already had a relationship with the Lord, but I realized just how much I need to depend on Him and not on myself (or anyone else, for that matter).

Yes, this was a year of discovery and self-reflection.

Next year, though, next year is going to be a year of moving forward and building a new life. Next year is filled with surprises and big things that I can’t even see yet. I can already feel that it is going to be a great year, but one that will come with lots of hard work and tough decisions. It won’t be easy, but it could easily be the best year yet. My word for 2013 is PRAYER. It’s going to be a big theme in the year to come for me, just watch. You’ll have to head over to my regular blog just to see how it all turns out for me.

So, I’m ready and rearing to charge into 2013 with the Lord’s banner flying high. I’ve made a list of goals, and for once, I aim to keep them. Here are my top 4 writing goals for 2013:

1.  Finish Aletheia. I’m almost done with the first draft, which I plan to enter into the ACFW Genesis Contest. I have about 20K left, which I can easily finish if I just commit to it. My plan is to have it completely done by the end of April…polished and all. We’ll see how that goes.

2. Finish Soter, the sequel to Aletheia, by the end of the year. I think this is doable and may get done long before the end of the year, but we’ll see. My plan kind of looks like this: 3 months to write (May-July), month off, 2 months to edit (September-October), month off, polish (December).

3. Attend the ACFW conference in September. I’d also like to attend a new conference as well, but financially that just doesn’t seem possible at the moment.

4. Get my editing business off the ground. I’m working on my certification as a copy editor through the University of California-San Diego. It’s challenging, but I love it. I’ve also joined Kathy Ide’s The Christian PEN, a network of Christian editors, where I am also taking some classes about becoming a freelance editor. I’ve been searching for a way to make some income from home, and this is perfect for me. I love the written word, and I love helping other writers. If you know someone looking for an editor…*wink, wink*

I wonder what I’ll be writing a year from now. Will I have accomplished these goals? Will I be able to tell tales of the conferences, sing praises to the Lord for landing a contract, file my taxes as a freelance editor? Only time will tell.

What is one of your goals for 2013?d

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

4 comments on “Charging into 2013

  1. Finish the final-really-I-mean-it-LAST-ONE draft of “City of Refuge” and then make it to a writers conference to pitch it. This novel will be ten years in the making this coming May, so it’d be kinda cool to have it come together this year.

  2. Inspiring goals for 2013, Ralene – I’ve included your piece in my post today, thanks.

  3. Janeen–I know you can get it done. At some point, we just have to take a deep breath and release our story into the world. 🙂

    Thanks, abbs!

Leave a Reply

