3 Comments

Quick Hits 12/11/12

Jimmy Clabby

This Saturday was my first instructor’s class for Farrell’s Extreme Bodyshaping, and I’m still so sore it hurts to laugh or cough. In light of the fun I had punching and kicking, here are some quick hits with what’s going on in my life. Hopefully, I won’t hurt myself.

I’m now a book reviewer for SF Signal, which is awesome. My first review will be for A Once Crowded Sky by Tom King, which I gave 4 stars. I’m excited to get a little more exposure for myself among readers as well as push myself to read with the kind of critical eye necessary to write solid reviews. Lastly, reading is expensive, so it will be nice to get a few freebies once and a while from their coffers.

I passed the 45% mark in my novel today, surpassing my daily goal by .1%. I thank God for helping me to push through a particularly tough day when all I wanted to do was sulk. Two people ruined my NFL game, and it really got under my skin. I struggled to love and accept God’s sovereignty, but… (just realized even though I was praying, I didn’t confess my sin, so I did that now). No more feeling sorry for myself.

It’s funny how we can know we’re exhibiting the wrong attitude, and yet go a whole day suffering without even thinking of confessing our sin.

I’m excited to see my wife. She was gone visiting a friend in Detroit this weekend, and I miss her. It was nice to have a quiet house for reading, but besides missing her company, I also miss her help keeping me organized. I barely made it, if you know what I mean. I did make it to church with matching socks, and taught Sunday School without more than the usual craziness.

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward is a Hugo nominated producer for Adventures in SciFi Publishing, who has been lost, broke and surfed with sharks on the other side of the world. He now dreams of greater adventures from his keyboard in Des Moines, Iowa. This summer he released two novels: his second Sand Divers book, Scavenger: A.I., where two parents use an ancient technology to fight a reproducing A.I. while trying to resurrect their deceased infant; and Godsknife: Revolt, an apocalyptic battle for godhood in the rift between Iowa and the Abyss.

3 comments on “Quick Hits 12/11/12

  1. Farrell’s Extreme Bodyshaping – now that sounds painful! The closest I ever came to something like that was a Billy Blanks workout and I hurt in places I didn’t even know I had places.

    • Yes, it has been painful, but I’m much stronger after 13 or so weeks and fighting back against the desk body that I’ve developed as a writer/reader. I currently hurt into my ribs when I laugh, which is weird, and kind of makes me–ouch.

  2. Glad you made it through the weekend without me. 🙂 Glad I am back too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

