1 Comment

The Reason for the Season

BetlehemAs I have mentioned several times in the last month or so, I love Christmas! The time from Halloween til after the new year, I’m the most excited, happy, etc. I just love this season.

This year, though, my “merry” has a short in it. The fuse went out. I’m struggling.

Lately, I’ve been focusing on all the things going “wrong.” We don’t have a house yet (been living with my in-laws since the end of July). My husband’s disability paperwork, which was supposed to be finished about 2 months ago, has not been completed yet, putting us in kind of a financial hold. I had to go and get a job to cover us until that all gets straightened out. On one hand, I didn’t have a problem with that, but it does put a strain on our homeschooling schedule and my freelance editing business launch. And with all that, I don’t think I’ve touched my WIP since before Thanksgiving.

It just seems that at every turn, something is going wrong, and I’m letting it get to me.

Something dawned on me earlier today, though. This season is not about me. It’s not about me at all.

This season is about celebrating the birth of Christ.

This season is about the joy in the fullfilment of that birth.

This season is about the blessings we have received, and the one promised by Christ.

This season has absolutely nothing to do with me–and everything to do with Him.

What am I portraying to others if I’m letting the trials of this life take my focus off of Christ? If I’m letting my light grow dim in my own frustration?

Where I am at this moment in time is not near as important as the celebration of God’s gift to the world. What I am doing in the day to day is not as important as the celebration of the eternity made available to us in Heaven.

Jesus is the reason for the season, and I would do well to remember that. I will not let this fallen world steal my joy!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

One comment on “The Reason for the Season

  1. I’ve come to a similar conclusion regarding Christmas. It’s all about my attitude, not how many activities we do. And also Christmas music. 🙂

Leave a Reply

