Leave a comment

The Season of Joy

Justin and I put up our Christmas tree tonight as we listened to music and sipped sparkling blueberry grape juice.

This is our favorite time of year. We started courting in mid-December, so every year this season reminds us of our time together (we’ve been a couple for 4 years now). For both of us, Christmas exudes a sweet magic that is never matched by the rest of the year.

And now because I can finally do it without getting rotten fruit thrown at me, I want to share my top 5 Christmas songs. Of course, I’ve been listening to Christmas music for several weeks now… 😉

1. I Wonder As I Wander.

I’d never heard this song before until my friend Galen sang it several years ago at one of our home-school choir Christmas performances. The song has captivated me ever since.

2. What Child Is This

This song makes me think of Christmases with my family. My dad and I’ve always loved this melody.

3. O Come, O Come Emmanuel

So beautiful and sad. And it sounds gorgeous in Latin.

4. Here With Us

It’s not a “classic”, and Joy Williams is not my favorite singer in the world, but I think this song is so pretty.

5. Hallelujah Chorus

I sang this in high school choir and loved it so much. The intricacy of the melody and harmony is so wonderful, and it’s a wonderful praise song!

So many of my favorite songs capture the wonder and magic of this season. I love the remembrances of the true reason we celebrate Christmas.

So, there you are. A lot of these songs aren’t what I typically go for, but they are perfect for my mood during Christmas. What are your top 5 Christmas songs?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

