3 Comments

Happy Trailer

Graphic artist I am not.

Still, I think every writer sees their story as a movie in their head. As such, I can’t imagine anyone who wouldn’t want to see it happen on the screen someday. Very often when I write, I envision scenes with certain music. Sometimes the music inspires the scene. Since I began writing Soul Yearning, there was an instrumental that seemed the perfect introduction to the opening scene of the book if it became a movie someday.

Then I cut the opening scene.

While my book may never become a movie, I was sad. First, because I loved the scene. Second, because that music was forever linked with that scene and how it played out in my mind.

Enter book trailer tinkering.

While that scene is gone, I kept hearing the music as the perfect way to introduce my story. That’s when the idea struck me that I should put it in a book trailer. Only one problem. I have no clue how to make a book trailer. And my book isn’t coming out yet because it’s still awaiting judgment on a few proverbial desks somewhere in the ether of the internet.

But I wouldn’t let that stop me. This song needed some Soul Yearning to go with it. So, I googled. Interestingly, with Windows Movie Maker, a few nice shareware pictures, and a tweak to my book blurb, I was able to come up with a fun little book trailer. I think it’s a bit too long and lingers on some of the images, but it was still a blast to see some type of visual representation of how I see and hear Soul Yearning in my head.

I hope someday to have an official book trailer, but for now this was a great experience for me. And…I needed a break from Nano. So, what about you? Have you ever tinkered with a book trailer? How did it turn out? I thought about posting a link to mine, but I’m a bit nervous hehe. Holler if you’d like to see it 🙂

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

3 comments on “Happy Trailer

  1. Love to see the trailer! And as much as I would love to see a book trailer of my book, if I even think about doing that it would provide too easy of an excuse to work on that instead of the Novel. I’m in the revision stages and am slogging through….

  2. I’d love to see the trailer. I’m still in the process of actual writing, so haven’t considered such things as trailers. However, it’s nice to plant a seedling…

  3. Let me see if I can upload it somewhere 🙂 Still new to Movie Maker. I’ll post a link once I figure it out.

Leave a Reply

