1 Comment

The Treasure of Banshee Isle

So, as I mentioned last week, I had a hard time coming up with a project for NaNoWriMo. I missed about a day and a half simply because I couldn’t decide what I was working on. That was followed by what has been one of the busiest, most stressful weeks of my existence, due to church and school commitments for both me and my husband, and a fairly dramatic family issue.

Despite various handicaps to my progress, however, I did, in fact, come up with a story. Needless to say, I’m a bit behind, but I am writing at least a little every day, hoping to catch up some over the next couple weeks. Really, really hoping to complete NaNo this year.

So what is this fantastic tale I’m going to tell? I decided to do a kids’ story. I’ve never done one before. I’ve never wanted to, don’t even know where to begin. And yet, that’s what I came up with to write. It will be a growing experience for me. I’ve done short stories, I’ve done historicals, I’ve done  action/adventure, I’ve even done romance, and of course I’ve done speculative, but I’ve never done anything geared toward kids. Aside from the completely new demographic, it’s also a completely new style. I have no idea how to change things to be palatable to little people, how to make it more interesting or more challenging, or how not to make it boring and childish. I haven’t read a ton of middle-grade fiction. The best I can say is that I ask my son questions about how he likes whatever story he’s reading at the moment.

So this story will be a challenge in a lot of ways, branching out, exercising my writerly brain, and exploring an entirely new realm. And actually it will be two stories, because 50,000 words is apparently longish for middle-grade fiction. But there it is. The

It stars two little boys (who may or may not bear a striking resemblance to my own two little boys) and the little girl next door. While on vacation in Ireland, the boys hear a legend about hidden treasure on  a nearby island, left by a king long ago and protected ever since by a banshee. Their adventure leads them into the path of pirates who will do anything to get the treasure themselves, and they may discover there’s more to the legend than they realize.

It has been a lot of fun reading up about Ireland and banshees and folklore. Granted, I haven’t done as much research as I will eventually need to do, because it’s NaNo and I have to put in a lot of time with the actual writing more than the researching at this point, but I’m learning fun things, and I hope the readers will not only learn but enjoy the adventure of The Treasure of Banshee Isle.
(And I can’t go into too much detail at this point, but the second story will involve a leprechaun…)

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

One comment on “The Treasure of Banshee Isle

  1. Oooh, sounds like a winner! I adore MG because that’s where all the imagination is at. Harry Potter started out MG, so if you’ve read that, you have some frame of reference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

