8 Comments

Worldbuilding: A Taste of My Universe

fantasy world building

Illustration by kapacyko • http://www.sxc.hu

I’m an SOTP writer. That is, seat-of-the-pants; otherwise known as the one who hates outlining. So when it comes to worldbuilding, most of what I come up with is in my head. Actually, many times I come up with things as I write and discover the worlds that inhabit my universe and apply it to the rest of my writing. Occasionally I have to adjust something I’ve written previously to keep everything consistent, but that actually doesn’t happen as often as one might think.

The trouble really comes when I get to the worlds. I really need to put them down somewhere instead of smattered throughout various documents. (I always split my novels up into a minimum of 4 documents ever since a disaster that happened back when I was using floppy disks.) I actually have to take the time to remember the names, people types, and most of all, the histories.  I’m going to share a few with you, then I’d like to know how you keep track of your own worlds and their histories and peoples.

I have 4 major stars in my first books: Sol (Earth’s), Arcturus, Denebola, and Castor. I chose real stars when I first started writing because I wanted to stay realistic, but of course later I found out that star sizes mattered and I’d need a more detailed star chart if I was to truly be realistic. I also have the hidden Silvarian’s star system and the Apache star system.

To come up with the names of planets, I do a spin of the star’s name.

Denebola star system has two planets (both gas giants) in my universe: Lobene and Noben. Each planet has several moons. Noben has the most inhabitable moons. Lobene only has 7 moons and only 3-4 are habitable. Each moon is called moon followed with its number followed with the first letter of its planet. for example; Moon1L is the center of a good part of my series. It has two polar oceans both covered in ice. In the southern ocean are two hidden underwater cities cut off from the rest of the moon. The rest of the moon is mostly desert. It’s people are Asian and all have black hair with ponytails. It is ruled by a king. Noben had the first colonized moons and there is a bit of rivalry between the two people groups. They are mining and shipyard moons, although recently Moon1L’s scientists have created a deadly weapon.

Arcturus has several inhabited planets. The Arcturusians are at a standoff with the ISF (Interstellar Space Force based out of Earth) mostly because the Arcturusians have phenomenal scientists and are constantly creating new technologies but they don’t want to share them and they would like to remain out of any conflict. The ISF has a hint of their extreme number of ships and doesn’t believe them. One of their planets has a supercontinent that is split into 4 countries, and I can’t remember all the names for either. The extreme scientists are based out of this planet. They have a mixed people group, a big chunk of which originally came from Africa.

Castor is the home base of my villain, Sir Sloan Storm. It is cut off from the rest of the galaxy but it is suspected their planets are all mining planets and they have countless space-based shipyards. Their fleet is around half that of the ISF’s, if you don’t count all the pirate ships. The pirating industry is mostly controlled out of that area. These peoples are a mix of Russian and German and the warrior type.

The Silvarians have clouded their area of space somehow so that no one can see into it. The ISF has no knowledge of how many planets or peoples are in it. They have Silver Stars fleets, named such because they have a tendancy to police the galaxy, especially near their system. They are skilled with virtually every weapon ever made.

The Apaches aren’t considered a threat and are looked down upon by their neighbors. In reality, they secretly have an enormous force and are the only ones who know of the subspace tunnel network running through this galaxy. They are of course, also the only ones who know how to control it.

I hope you enjoyed reading about some of my worlds. Now I’d like to hear a bit about yours. :)

 

p.s. Sweet picture Kristen! :D Thanks for finding it for me. :)

About Nathanael Scott

Nathanael Scott has been an enthusiastic reader of a variety of genres for as far back as he can remember, his favorite being science fiction. He uses writing to let loose his imagination in a way that glorifies God and benefits others. If you can’t get hold of him, he’s probably in outer space piloting a starfighter on a mission to save your life. He is the author of Though Storms May Rage, a sci-fi novel that is currently in revision.

8 comments on “Worldbuilding: A Taste of My Universe

  1. Cool! It reminds me very much of Earth in the colonial period, when England had outposts everywhere. There always seemed to be some rogue splinter group that went off and did something. Or some small despot that rose up and needed to be pushed back.

    Do you have any people groups that abhor technology?

    Who watches the watchers/Silvarians?

    What about xenophobes who don’t want to have anything to do with anyone?

  2. Ooo…interesting. Thanks for sharing, Nate!

  3. Ok, here’s my third attempt at replying. ;) Here’s to hoping I don’t accidentally close the page again. That is actually a very accurate description Michelle. I just saw it as a logical progression from where it started off originally. As to the techno-phobic (I have no clue what the technical term is) people group, I have yet to discover a people like that but I can see the SSDF coming across some like that in the future. As to the Silvarians, it is impossible to watch them. The ISF really isn’t concerned about them cause they deal with pirates and are very anti-social. They originally came from elite peace-keeping teams. If anyone enters their space though, they’re never heard of again. They’re very protective about their space. If you enter their space, your navigation and directional computer systems are immediately scrambled and you’re essentially lost until one of their patrols pick you up. They warn everyone about it though. Well now, a xenophobe wouldn’t let himself be seen now, would he? ;)

    • The Silvarians remind me of Batman, actually. Mysterious, secretive, crime-fighters.
      Elite peace-keeping teams, cool!

  4. Thanks Ralene! :) It was actually kind of fun to get it down. Wish I could’ve done a bit more on the Arcturusians, but I really don’t focus on them close up until what will be my third book now. They’re mostly just a possible threat in the first couple books that must be dealt with.

  5. Very cool.

    The Apaches are cool. Sort of remind me of a secret society.

  6. Silvarians<———- I all ready don't trust them. I blame Zahn for this entirely. :D The Rail series has tainted my view of benign do-gooders.

  7. Lol Michelle, I don’t think anyone *really* trusts them, but as long as they’re within the law they don’t feel threatened by them either. So I won’t commit to either side. (Batman or hidden agenda do-gooders) As to the Apaches, they kind of have to be secretive. For as long as people think they’re holed up in their reservation somewhere, they’re safe from being considered a possible threat.

Leave a Reply

