12 Comments

Special Guest- Mike Lynch

Introduction by Diane M Graham

I am thrilled to introduce all of you to Mike Lynch. Some might call him a rarity among the literary masses. Not very often will you find a writer that can work so well with others. We do tend to be territorial with our work. But Mike plays nice. As a result every novel branded with his name carries the name of another as well.

I first learned of Mike through various writing circles we both frequent such as the Lost Genre Guild.  Mike actually contacted me with a request to read his newest novels with a possibility of reviewing it. I was honored to read a copy of After the Cross by him and Brandon Barr. But alas, that review was not meant to be. Why? Because Mike sent me a copy of the only book he’s penned that is not spec-fic.

So instead of a review Mike agreed to be our guest. As with all of our guests here at NAF, Mike will share his journey to publication with us. I’ve also asked that he  give a glimpse of his creative process while writing with a partner. I hope all of you find it as interesting and unique as I do.

Go to page 2 ==>

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

12 comments on “Special Guest- Mike Lynch

  1. Enjoyed the story, and especially how you’ve worked with Brandon. I’ve collaborated with my mom on a story once, and one other person (but we never finished it), but never a whole novel.

    May you have much success!

  2. What a great guest post!
    I think we “met” at The Crystal Portal launch chat. It wasn’t a book that interested me (forgive me, Grace) until I’d enjoyed a few hours of your humor. I will be reading it sometime this year.
    I’ve been curious about co-writing, so thanks for your insights about that.
    And thank you for the encouragement. As I’ve been ready – once again – to toss my computer (and my 3rd WIP) out the window, I’m reminded – once again- to keep writing. Guess I’m supposed to keep writing. 🙂

    • Robynn, good to hear from you, and yes, I remember you at the book chat. Keep on writing, even though it may be hard at times. If you have any questions about co-authoring, or need some help navigating those waters, don’t hesitate to ask.

      Mike

  3. Thanks for sharing, Mike.

    Personally, I started a book with one fellow writer, but my friend got caught up by life and didn’t really have time to work on it. I have worked some on it, but who knows what will happen to it. So, it is nice to hear about a successful co-author project. I think I’m still hoping for the chance to team up one day, but it really does take a unique pair – equally committed to the project and enough similarities in styles to mesh without always debating style-type issues.

    • Ren,

      I hope it works out for you. I enjoy having another person on the same project. I found it helps bring out my best as a writer. Plus, it’s nice to have someone else on board promoting the same writing project as you.

      Mike

  4. My Dearest Youngest Daughter,

    very interesting interview.

  5. Hi, Mike! Glad to see you here :). This was really cool getting to read your journey. With all that I know about you from running some of the same circles (LGG, Splashdown), I had no idea you’d worked on When the Sky Fell for so long, even if it was off and on. I have to say, I think it’s awesome of you to have persevered, and to have put your family first while maintaining faith that God would some day bring your writing career to fruition.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Hey everyone, thanks for all your encouraging comments. It’s nice to know our journeys as writers can be a benefit to others. I look forward to hearing your stories in the future.

    Mike

  7. Whoops. Mike Kynch? That was a strange typo.

Leave a Reply

