21 Comments

The Value of One Life

Image from ourbabyhuman.com

As I searched my heart and the net, trying to think of what I would blog about this week, I came across a news story. In the story it talks about a family that has moved to the US to save their child. They know he will die, but the thought of allowing him to starve to death or suffocate was too unbearable for them to face. A court order was in place that would allow the hospital to pull the plug to the baby’s life support.

There lies the wonders of socialized medicine.

Frantically the parents searched for help. Just a little mercy that would allow their 13 month old baby Joseph to die peacefully without suffering. They found it through a group from New York called Priests for Life and the child was flown to Cardinal Glenn Catholic hospital in St. Louis.

The hospital that had taken care of Joseph in Canada adamantly uphold their choice as legal and ethical. They claim they were in the right for going to court to remove baby Joseph’s breathing tube. Because to them, it is about the money being spent to sustain a life that has no value. To them, baby Joseph’s life has no value. I will say it once more. They think this tiny bundle has nothing to offer society and therefore his life is legally and ethically (to them) worth no more effort and no more money.

Can you imagine what these poor parents must be going through? Because they know that baby Joseph is a gift from God. They know that he is teaching them to love with their whole hearts, even though they are helpless to save him. Even though they know no amount of money can ever be enough to replace their child.

So, this leads me to ponder the value of just one life. Can just one life make a difference in this world of sin? Baby Joseph has already done just that by being alive for 13 short months. He has touched the hearts of his parents, a group of priests that stand for those that can’t do so for themselves and a hospital that knows a child’s life is precious. Baby Joseph has touched my heart and made my thank God for my five healthy babies. No telling how many more this dying baby will touch before God brings him home.

Then, I think of how this world is so ripe and rot has set in. Because when humanity puts a monetary value on human life…when they allow women to murder their babies and call it legal choice… when they allow courts to order a child’s suffering because it is too much money for non-productivity…when they allow governments to steal children from their parents so they can use them like guinea pigs and disguise it as greater good…well, we must be near the end.

2 Timothy 4:3-4 (King James Version)

3For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears;

4And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

These are not things hidden in the cover of dark. These are not things going on in third-world countries. These are acceptable to the general population of humanity. Right here in the United States. Just north in Canada. All over the Earth, people have turned from truth and morality for self gain.

It sickens me to my very core. I imagine the angels weeping. I imagine the Lord’s heart breaking.

One life is capable of changing the world. One baby is capable of washing the hearts of man. One man is capable of dying for each and every one of us. That is the true value of one life and I pray for any that have forgotten that.

Peace, love and God’s will.

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

21 comments on “The Value of One Life

  1. I don’t like what had to be covered and revealed in your post, but I certainly like that you brought it to our attention. Thanks, Diane. Much to think on for sure. Hopefully this will be shown to people that can do something about it.

  2. I’ve been following this story on AFR.net. If we as a race cannot remember that human life is precious simply because it human life, we will not survive. Not because God will destroy us; because we will destroy ourselves.

    I hear the arguments of those who think of money and waste. I understand them to a point. I would never actively advocate keeping a human alive in a vegetative state on ventilators for decades, when “pulling the plug” would effectively end the life. To me that is a case of “everything is permissible, but not everything is beneficial.”

    But when a heart continues to beat, when lungs continue to work, I believe it is our responsibility to care for that life until God takes it home. That means food and water, and yes, expense in all senses of the word. We have limited understanding. We cannot know who will be touched or healed in God’s timing.

    A fine line? Perhaps. But what side we walk on, in my opinion, determines our humanity.

    I hear the pain in your heart, Vaulter. God hears it, too, and He will comfort you and them.

  3. A friend of mine and her husband had a baby born with a rare genetic problem. When they first found out their baby had this (in the womb), they became desperate enough for answers and so went to the church behind their house. There they found God. And they would tell you it is God and the people from that church that helped them through the birth of their son, through all the surgeries he went through, and held their hands when he passed away shortly before he was a year old.

    As my friend told me her story, I was struck with how many people this little baby touched. She said there wasn’t even enough room at the funeral parlor to fit everyone that came. How many of us live to be 60,70,80 and yet never reach that many people? God used a sweet little boy in a lot of pain. He always uses those whom society would not see much use for and does amazing things.

    • Thank you for sharing that, Morgan. We often forget it isn’t about us, it’s about HIM. Sometimes it takes a small sick child to remind us.

  4. My dearest youngest daughter,

    What if you got to heaven and asked God, “Why wasn’t the second coming a little sooner?” What if He said,”you know all the children that were aborted and senselessly put to death?” and you said, “Yes.” and He replied,”He was among them!”

    We know not who God sends, or how or why, He could have miraculously healed any one of them.

  5. Diane, your blog was beautiful today. wanted to let you know i loved it and agree with everything you said. I first saw this story on Fox news channel, then I heard they had brought him here, I was so glad.

  6. This reminds me of the story where a doctor prays, “God, why don’t you send us great people to save us from cancer, AIDS, and other plagues that cause so much suffering?”
    God said, “I did. You aborted them.”

  7. Touching story, Diane. We can’t, nor do we have to, answer all the questions of “Why?”
    God knows, and that’s enough. We don’t have to know.
    Blessings.

  8. 2 years after I was born, God blessed Mom and Dad with a little girl. Unfortunately she was born with a defective valve in her heart. It was obvious Beth would never grow up-her faulty circulation could only support the relative inactivity of an infant. But there was never any question in 1959 that she should live as long as she was able. Beth lived a year, and at 3 years old I learned some harsh lessons about life and death, because I had grown attached to this bundle of joy and poop. My very earliest memories are of Beth, that little tiny baby with blue skin because her blood wasn’t circulating enough to support her.

    Beth was a bundle of joy while she was here, although I’m not sure Mom ever got over her death. (Well, DUH, you’re thinking.) One thing I comforted myself with last month when Mom passed away was that she at least was going home to see her daughter. And Beth had her Mom again.

    The point I guess I’m trying to make is that in that 12 months God had Beth touch the world around her, and shape me, in ways I will never know.

    • Thanks for sharing, Kevin. We don’t know His plan. We are only suppose to trust that He knows a little something about what He is doing. That is peace through tragedy.

    • Kevin, even though I liked Diane’s post, and she usually can pick some good ones, your comment here really touched me because of how personal it was for you to share. Let me say thank you for sharing, and now Beth has touched yet another person many years and decades and distance after her going to meet her Creator. 🙂

      My favorite part of your comment: “…..she at least was going home to see her daughter. And Beth had her Mom again.” I liked that a lot. Thanks again for sharing. 🙂

  9. Hey, can I recommend a novel you might like? I thought of it when I read this. It’s an old one called “Winterflight” by Joseph Bayly (1981). He saw the link between abortion and euthenasia and wrote about it passionately in this short novel. It’s chilling.

  10. I had posted the original article on AGAPEMOVEMENT and now I wish I could have waited and asked your permission to post the story through your eyes….Great article as usual , Di….

Leave a Reply

