21 Comments

Cookie Cutter People

So I am driving along with the kiddos and all is well. We are playing the game we call “Guess the Song”. Just something to pass the hour drive to the closest medium town. The older kids are getting them left and right, while Peyton sits pouting. He is younger and therefore doesn’t know as many. I ignore him. Why? Because he is acting foolish. Then, he makes the sad mistake of saying that it isn’t fair.

I saw red.

I calmly pull the truck over and verbally lay into my son. Now, I know you all probably think I am just awful but honestly, I don’t care.  See, this is how I see it. If I would have coddled my son at that moment, I would have done him great harm.

He needs me to be honest with him.

He needs me to tell him to suck it up and get over it.

And so I did.

I see a sad thing happening in the world around me.  We are trying to rob an individual of their individuality. Wiping away the depths and textures of all so they fit into a predefined standard. Somehow man has decided in their jealously that no one should stand apart from another. Everyone is “special”. Everyone gets a prize.

If everyone is extraordinary, then everyone is in fact ordinary. God didn’t make us as cookie-cutter people. So why are we trying so desperately to erase what HE did? Why are we fighting so hard to make everyone equal in all things?

Equal– identical in size, quantity, degree, intensity, etc; the same (as) 

Is that what we really want?

By golly, if one of my children does something extraordinary, I am going to gush over them. I am going to make them feel important. And I don’t care if the others feel less. That is a great motivator for them to shine at something they are good at. I embrace their individuality. Because sometimes, you are not as good, as pretty, as fast, as wealthy or whatever else as the guy or gal next to you. And that’s okay. If you want to be or do better, work at it. But even then, you may only be mediocre. And that is all right too.

Find what God gave you. It may be little but it is just as important to nurture as the something big. I know for a fact the small things can pack a punch and cause a ripple that becomes a tsunami. With God, anything is possible.

I will leave you this week with something to ponder upon.

The Parable of the Talents

Matthew 25:14-30

14 ¶ For the kingdom of heaven is as a man traveling into a far country, who called his own servants, and delivered unto them his goods.

15 And unto one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one; to every man according to his several ability; and straightway took his journey.

16 Then he that had received the five talents went and traded with the same, and made them other five talents.

17 And likewise he that had received two, he also gained other two.

18 But he that had received one went and digged in the earth, and hid his lord’s money.

19 After a long time the lord of those servants cometh, and reckoneth with them.

20 And so he that had received five talents came and brought other five talents, saying, Lord, thou deliveredst unto me five talents: behold, I have gained beside them five talents more.

21 His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

22 He also that had received two talents came and said, Lord, thou deliveredst unto me two talents: behold, I have gained two other talents beside them.

23 His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

24 Then he which had received the one talent came and said, Lord, I knew thee that thou art a hard man, reaping where thou hast not sown, and gathering where thou hast not strewed:

25 and I was afraid, and went and hid thy talent in the earth: lo, there thou hast that is thine.

26 His lord answered and said unto him, Thou wicked and slothful servant, thou knewest that I reap where I sowed not, and gather where I have not strewed:

27 thou oughtest therefore to have put my money to the exchangers, and then at my coming I should have received mine own with usury.

28 Take therefore the talent from him, and give it unto him which hath ten talents.

29 For unto every one that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance: but from him that hath not shall be taken away even that which he hath.

30 And cast ye the unprofitable servant into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Peace, love and God’s will.

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

21 comments on “Cookie Cutter People

  1. I’ve been thinking lately about the parable of the talents as well. I may come back and tell you some of my thoughts about the guy who wasted his one talent. 😉

  2. I think someone might be sending me a message. I read the parable last night in my devotional, read it here, and I was asked whether or not I wanted to join the kids worship group at Chruch. Hmm.

    Oh, I probably wouldn’t have gotten the songs either.

    • I have found the God tends to put messages in the Body of Christ at the same time. Many times I have seen other friends talk about what has been tickling my mind. As a matter of fact, Chicky (Kat) talked about that within the last week at her personal blog (Finding Kat Heckenbach). 😀

      But there are things you can do that others can’t, sweet one.

  3. From the movie “The Incredibles”:

    Dash: But Dad always said our powers were nothing to be ashamed of, our powers made us special.
    Helen: Everyone’s special, Dash.
    Dash: [muttering] Which is another way of saying no one is.

  4. My dearest youngest daughter,

    If the Lord gave us all the same talents then we would be in deep trouble. What if God didn’t give someone the talent of shoveling s___! Then we would be knee deep in the stuff. We may not all have the talent that we like, but I think our job is to learn to like the talent that we have been allotted. As I said, even the s___ shovelers job is very important! Everything on this earth has a purpose, We may not be able to see it but God knows

  5. Good reflections, Diane! While I agree with everything you said, I would like to emphasize something. We do need to accept the talents God gave us and realize that we aren’t necessarily going to be as “_____” as someone else, and that it’s ok. We really need to drive this home with our kids, but I think in a positive way. Show them how to rejoice with others who are exceling right now, how to be humble and accepting that it may not be their time. Yep, that about sums up what I wanted to say. lol…

    • Exactly! The only reason I got on to Peyton was he was acting angry at the others doing well. I understand that it is not always easy being happy for our brothers and sisters when we seem to be lacking but we must try. And being angry is just a waste of energy. 😉

  6. Recently when thinking on the parable of the talents it occurred to me: “Why was it that these other guys only doubled what they had? Why not triple it or even quadruple it or more?” Were they not capable enough? Or were the talents they had not as potent (didn’t have the potential) of some other talent(s) that were out there?

    Those thoughts came because of another thought:

    What if the man with one talent had used the talent and it multiplied back at least 11 times? If he had been the one with 11 talents or more and the other guy had 10 and the other guy had 4, would the guy that had only 4 then have had to give his 4 to the guy with 11 or more?

    The man who buried his talent was foolish because he didn’t even try. He just assumed that either he would not be able to do well with it or that since it was only one that it wasn’t worth anything, yet perhaps it was that very talent that would have had massive multiplication back to him and would have had him shine even brighter than the guy who was initially given 5 talents.

    Another aspect to consider:

    When looking at it from an eternity perspective, when they go to the man of whom they are servants to at the end, it is like when we go to God after we die or after He comes back to judge. When the man “buried his talent”, it means that he took it to the grave with him and never bothered to use it because he didn’t see the potential worth he had available to him. If he had even used it with some mild wisdom and put it in the bank to draw interest, the master said that would be better than what he did by not using it at all.

    How many go by in life without using their talents? How many have dreams that they don’t bother pursuing? If you are reading this now and you have any dream at all that you know you once had very strong, but it has gotten weak, let it rise back up within you and start pursuing it! Don’t let it go with you to the grave. Make some effort to get it done!

    Now go back and re-read this comment then go back up and re-read the parable of the talents. Something to think about for sure when it comes to each of our lives.

  7. Quick! Where’s it from?
    “It’s not fair.”
    “You say that so often. I wonder what your basis of comparison is?”

    hehe!

  8. I thought it was something that went round in circles cause I was getting dizzy. LOL

  9. ‘Tis true, Princess. I always told my kids to suck it up just because life ISN’T fair. Deal with it. Far too many adults are still running around whining and sniveling that life isn’t fair. I want to know where on their contract that “fair” was promised to one and all. It surely isn’t “fair” for one person to take on Himself the sins that all of the rest of the world committed. It’s not fair that He was betrayed, beaten, and nailed to a cross. It wasn’t fair that all of the disciples minus one deserted Him in His pain and agony that He took on for them. It wasn’t fair, no it wasn’t.

    Where do people get the notion that “it” will be fair?

Leave a Reply

