1 Comment

Rolling with Plan B

elfI love dressing up. It’s one of my favorite things. I wish more occasions were dress-up occasions. And not just dress-up as in wearing a dress and heels, although I love having an excuse to dress up that way, too, but costume dress-up.

When I was a kid, my family never celebrated Halloween, and while I understand my mom’s moral stance on that, I always felt a little gypped that I didn’t get to get a fun outfit. Now that I’m more or less a grown-up and can make my own choices, I’ll grab any excuse I can find to wear a costume. My sister-in-law hosts tea parties for various occasions, and she’s costume-friendly. For her last Christmas Tea, I dressed up as an elf. One year she had a Valentine’s Fairy Tea Party and I got to dress myself, and my daughter who was a baby at the time, up as fairies. I love dressing up for the Renaissance Faire and for anything else that comes along.

Writers conferences, especially those that are Spec Fic Friendly, are a great place to sport a shiny new costume. So, of course, as I’m prepping for this year’s Realm Makers conference, along with preparing my manuscripts for pitching and preparing my workshop talk, I’m also plotting out my costume. I had a costume that I was planning on wearing, but after trying it on this week, I decided the ginormous baby-belly I’ve got going on really didn’t enhance the look in any way.

No, really.

There are only so many costumes that a 7 1/2 month pregnant woman can wear in public, and a mermaid costume isn’t one of them. So I may do that another year.

However, that meant I had to come up with a Plan B pretty quickly. And on a budget. It’s harder than it sounds to come up with a compelling idea that is recognizably Spec-Fic using things already on-hand or that can be purchased quickly and affordably and still look like I didn’t throw this costume together at the last minute. Especially since, as co-Emcee of the conference, I’m going to have to stand up and talk and stuff.

BUT, Plan B came into focus pretty easily. I’m making my costume from material I had in my stash (yes, I have a material stash), and I’ll only need to buy a couple relatively inexpensive props to make it work.

So stay tuned! In just a couple weeks, I’ll reveal my stunningly awesome (or at least super adequate) costume at the Realm Makers Awards Banquet!

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a married, stay-at-home mom of four living in Phoenix, AZ. She is active in her church on the worship team and with the women's minsitry. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers. When she's not writing or parenting, she loves to read, go hiking with friends, and crochet baby blankets.

One comment on “Rolling with Plan B

  1. I can’t wait to see Plan B! :D

Leave a Reply

