11 Comments

Three Things

I know I mentioned that story trumps everything last week, but as I’ve recently finished reading another fantasy novel, it got me thinking about something I heard on a podcast.

The premise of the cast was that a character’s popularity depends on three things. You can listen to it here if you like.

What are the three things?

A character’s Competence, Pro-activity, and Sympathy.

three-things

In the novel I read, the protagonist annoyed me at first. So much so that the book sat in my kindle for a good six months stuck on the early chapters. If I had to grade that character on a scale of 1 to 10, it would be pretty poor.

Competence – 1 (He was the town bum/drunk)

Pro-activity – 2 (The only thing that motivated him was finding ways to get more ale, and even then he wasn’t that motivated to do anything but whine)

Sympathy – 1 (He was a drink-alone-until-you-pass-out drunk who whined a lot when sober)

As the story wove on, the character eventually reveals why he drinks, which raised his sympathy up to about  a 5. Then he kicks the habit with the help of a mentor who trains him to be one of the finest staff fighters in the land. Competence up to about 5.

By the end of the story, all of those numbers would be around 8 or 9.

Which made for an awesome story. I couldn’t put it down once the character became more likable. But I think this shows the danger of having too large an arc in character development.

I think the recent popularity of grimmer tales reflects this. Very few readers want the story of the village boy who becomes king. Yet they’ll read about that insanely skilled assassin with questionable ethics. That assassin’s sympathy level might be low, but his competence and pro-activity are off the charts.

When I wrote the first draft of my debut novel, a lot of people complained about my protagonist. I didn’t know about these three things, but when I made my character more competent and proactive, the reactions went off the chart in the positive direction.

Maybe you’ve been struggling with a manuscript or not getting the positive feedback you hoped for. Scoring your characters on these three things might be a good place to change that :)

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

11 comments on “Three Things

  1. Mine’s very high on all three counts. No wonder some readers have expressed such appreciation for him. In fact I have to make him the pivot on which the action of others turns rather than the driver of the action – helping others to overcome the real challenges posed by the plot.

  2. Gah! Will stole my blog post for Friday. Now I have to line up a guest blogger…

    The talk of scoring characters this way made me think of generating characters for role-playing games. For character creation, I still like the Myers-Briggs based model Jeff Gerke describes in Plot vs. Character, but this analysis adds another dimension to that.

    Y’all, definitely listen to this podcast. It’s excellent.

  3. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    No wonder some have expressed such admiration for my chief protagonist: he rates very highly in all three areas…

Leave a Reply

