2 Comments

A Time to Recommit

Round Globe flowersMy word for 2014 is INTENTIONAL.

I have a confession to make. I haven’t been very intentional lately. I’ve watched my life and priorities crumble around me the last few weeks. I’m not quite sure where I lost focus. Possibly back in April when I got overwhelmed after being sick for a month. Possibly when my mom came for a visit. Not sure.

What I do know, is that I’ve slipped back into bad habits–and it’s time to recommit to change.

Being intentional means having a plan. It means focusing on what is in front of you, and not worrying about everything else. To determine to do something with resolve.

For me, being intentional means:

setting goals, and then working to meet them.

when I fail, try again.

seeing the needs in my life (and my family’s) and meeting them.

discerning what activities/projects I should be doing, and then keeping my commitments.

learning to say no when necessary.

(quoted from my original post)

The sad part is that I’ve failed at each and every one of these in the past month. The exciting part is, like I said in the list, I get to try again. A re-commitment to God’s word for me.

I will be intentional.

I will rise above my current situation and come out on top.

I will take time to assess what I need to do, set goals, and work bit by bit to meet them.

I will not be discouraged by setbacks, but will reevaluate the situation and try again.

I will not let work distract me from my first calling: my family and their needs. I will turn our home into a refuge and a joy. I will make sure my children know that I cherish them above anything that work provides. My husband will know that I see him, than I adore him, and that his wants/needs are important to me.

I will take a look at my schedule and see where I am falling short. I’ve been over-committing my time and in areas God doesn’t want me to be.

That’s where saying no comes in handy–and not volunteering for every little thing helps too.

There’s a lot of work to be done. And I know that I will need God’s help–I can’t do it alone. I just can’t. Prayer. Time with God. Time in His word. Water for a thirsty soul.

“God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called.” And that is what I am praying He will continue to do with me.

What about you? Do you need to recommit to goals/priorities you set up at the beginning of the year? Now is the time! Reevaluate your situation and recommit. Let’s hold each other up!

 

About Ralene Burke

Born this side of a miracle, Ralene Burke grew up with a love for the supernatural side of God. Her passion spills over into her writing as she spins fast-paced tales of angels, demons, and the broader calling of every human being. A place where the light pierces the darkness... Outside of the fiction world, she is a homeschooling mother of three, living wherever the military sends her husband. She enjoys crazy nights with friends and board games, snuggling with her family, or, more often than not, the company a good book.

2 comments on “A Time to Recommit

  1. Here’s something to help you say no:

    And if you need a different tone of voice:

    http://nooooooooooooooo.com/

    Here’s to saying “no” when we need to, where we need to, how we need to! ;)

Leave a Reply

