3 Comments

Spring Fever

springIt’s that time of year. The weather is warm–in fact, in here in Phoenix, it’s pretty much swimming weather. School has been going for nearly forever. Spring Break was just long enough to give the kids a taste of what the freedom of summer will bring and make it that much harder to go back and sit at a desk. Homework takes about eleven times as long as it should, and regular chores are shockingly irregular.

Meanwhile, I’m madly trying to finish editing at least one (possibly two) manuscript(s) before the Realm Maker’s conference, as well as finish preparing the workshop I’ll be teaching, all while resisting the urge to go outside with a book and get some sun.

It’s a hard time of year to get anything done. Life does that a lot. It’s so easy to get distracted from the things that need to be done. It’s hard to focus.

Some people have a hard time concentrating if there are dirty dishes in the sink or if other housework is left undone. Some people have to get their writing time in first thing in the morning if they want to fit it in. Some people get up early or stay up late. I tend to work well if I work with my ADD a little bit and don’t try to stick to any one task for too long, so I don’t get as bored or easily distracted. I find I get very productive if I have a list, and if I break things up. Do a chore, write a page, do a chore, write a page (or edit a chapter or whatever phase I’m working on). And cross off my list every time I do something. Unfortunately, I hate lists. I’m not a list person. Even though I can’t remember things unless I write them down and even though I get a little thrill out of checking things off, I don’t like lists. Figure that one out.

At any rate, there are things that need to be done, and Spring Fever must be tamped down in order to keep everything else up.

So tell me. What is your favorite part of spring? What makes it hardest for you to get things done? And what helps you? Do you use a list? Do you have to complete one job before moving on to another?

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a married, stay-at-home mom of four living in Phoenix, AZ. She is active in her church on the worship team and with the women's minsitry. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers. When she's not writing or parenting, she loves to read, go hiking with friends, and crochet baby blankets.

3 comments on “Spring Fever

  1. Take away the pollen and I’d say my favorite thing about spring is… spring. :D

    My distractions are perennial. They can crop up at… SQUIRREL! ;)

    What helps me? Somebody else’s deadline imposed on me. The problem with my self-motivation (which is intense) is that it tries to do too much… SQUIRREL!… for one person in one lifetime.

    Lists are almost worthless for me. I write them, but we ENFP-preferenced people haven’t called ourselves Expected Not to Follow the Plan for nothing. :D

    The only cure for me is, indeed, to focus on one task or subtask at a time. That’s why I know I’ll never write a solo novel. Just focusing on a short story takes long enough and every SQUIRREL in the neighborhood at the time has to be shot on sight. An anthology of short stories, yes, but even then I will have to make it my focus at the time, until the task is done or until some natural stopping point is reached.

  2. LOL I totally know how that goes. Which is why I generally don’t like lists. But they do help me stay focused and checking them off gives me a sense of accomplishment which helps motivate me.

Leave a Reply

