10 Comments

My Brain is Turducken

file000894312228If you follow me on Facebook and Twitter, you know that this last week or so has been rough. We had a bout of flu ravage our household right after a few of us finally got over nasty colds. It’s like the viruses new spring was upon us and we weren’t going to be cooped up in the house anymore. ATTACK!

Thankfully, we are on the upswing.

But, add those couple of weeks to my mom’s visits in March, and other stuff that randomly comes up–you know how life is–and I am behind. Again. It seems to be a perpetual state for me lately. Always trying to catch up.

When I look at the state of my brain right now, I’m actually stunned. I have so much to do to catch up in all aspects of my life, not just writing and editing, but how did it get like this? I mean, I have the TOOLS to ensure that I don’t get so far behind that my brain turns into turducken. I have lists and schedules and lists and . . . it all just fell apart.

How?

Why?

God, why don’t you like me anymore? (Anyone ever feel like that?)

Now, I know that God loves me, and that He is always watching out for me, protecting me, molding me . . . What? Hey, is He trying to teach me something here?

One thing that became apparent to me in the last 5 weeks is that I can be very, very lazy. Yes, it’s shocking, I know. But I will use just about any excuse in the book not to do what I should be doing.

It’s nice outside–we’ll skip school so the kids can play!

It’s raining outside–we’ll have a PJ day since we’re all feeling the drain of the weather changing.

I’ll work on that article later, after Bones. And The Following. And Castle. And . . . I’m too tried.

Here let me put this aside so I can do this, which interests me so much more!

SQUIRREL!

Okay, so I’m lazy and highly distractable. (Is that a word?)

Another thing I’ve noticed is that I can’t work with my family around like I used to. When the kids were younger and my husband was gone all the time, I must have worked around them because it was a necessity or I’d never get anything done. Now, though, my husband is no longer in the military and not gone for days/months on end. The kids are getting to the point where they can entertain themselves for a good amount of time–or hubby is home to watch them. And my brain decides: Must. Have. Silence. No. Distractions. (robot voice)

So, I’ve had these revelations. Then God reminds me of my word for 2014: Purposeful. I’m supposed to be purposeful on where and how I spend my time and energy. When did I lose focus on that?

Are we seeing a pattern here? Maybe it’s just me.

It’s time to pick up the pieces, go back to the drawing board, and begin again. As one of my friends so nicely said this weekend: “It isn’t failure until you quit trying.”

No quitting for me!

By the way, has anyone actually tried turducken?

About Ralene Burke

Whether Ralene Burke is wielding a writer’s pen, an editor’s sword, or a social media wand, she always has her head in a dreamer’s world. And she wants to make it SHINE! In her own writing, Ralene spins fast-paced tales of fantasy worlds, angels and demons, and the broader calling of every human being. A place where the light pierces the darkness . . . You can find out more about her writing and editing services on her website: www.raleneburke.com. Outside of the publishing world, she is a veteran’s wife and a homeshooling mama of three amazing children. She enjoys crazy nights with friends and board games, snuggling with her family, or, more often than not, enjoying the company of a good book.

10 comments on “My Brain is Turducken

  1. Your bio blurb, your self-analysis, your strengths and weaknesses, makes me wonder if you share with me a preference for that cognitive pattern summarized as ENFP. (Remember, it’s a summary of what you *do, not of what you *are: how you prefer to perceive and decide and in what order.) The good news, if so, is that “blessed are the merciful” and “blessed are the pure in heart” are Beatitudes you naturally find easy to master and so you can be a blessing to others thereby. The preference also grants a peculiar kind of imagination, of a draw to fantasy. The bad news is… SQUIRREL! :D

    In my neck of the theological woods we call these things you describe “pre-Passover trials”. Satan hates everything to do with the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ and he seems to take it out on everybody, Christian or not. So maybe this is part of the syndrome you and I… SQUIRREL! :D

  2. Ralene, I’m right there with you. When I was working a day job, I could be diligent at it and come home and be diligent about my writing, even though my son was still living at home then.

    Now that my son’s moved out and I’m a freelancer…squirrels everywhere. :(

    My word for this year is FOCUS.

    • Yes, but if you and Raelene can LAUGH with me at the Rodent Revolution which surrounds us, we’re halfway to victory over it. I paraphrased Aragorn’s words to one of the Hobbits – Merry, I believe – thus: “A man (or a woman, of course) who cannot laugh at his own foibles is in fetters of his own forging.” Because, you see, our sense of humor is linked to the very faculty of mind which is the most self-deceptive in us, the one most prone to put us between rocks and hard places. :) Humor can help us outmaneuver the traps we lay for ourselves. It’s not a panacea – “Cleanse Thou me from hidden faults” should come first – but it helps! :D

  3. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    What I wrote in reply:
    > Your bio blurb, your self-analysis, your strengths and weaknesses, makes me wonder if you share with me a preference for that cognitive pattern summarized as ENFP. (Remember, it’s a summary of what you *do, not of what you *are: how you prefer to perceive and decide and in what order.) The good news, if so, is that “blessed are the merciful” and “blessed are the pure in heart” are Beatitudes you naturally find easy to master and so you can be a blessing to others thereby. The preference also grants a peculiar kind of imagination, of a draw to fantasy. The bad news is… SQUIRREL! :D
    > In my neck of the theological woods we call these things you describe “pre-Passover trials”. Satan hates everything to do with the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ and he seems to take it out on everybody, Christian or not. So maybe this is part of the syndrome you and I… SQUIRREL! :D

  4. Feel the same way here. How did I used to keep the house cleaner than this? How did I used to have more energy? etc etc etc.
    Finally wrote some the other day, but that meant the dishes and other things went undone (they’re still waiting…).

    Haven’t tried turducken yet either. =)

Leave a Reply

