1 Comment

A Post That Isn’t About Writing

Whew! I think that’s the longest series of posts I’ve ever done on the subject of writing. It’s time for a break.

A week from tomorrow is my son’s first birthday. As I write this, he’s snoozing in his room, cuddled up with his favorite blanket and toy dragon. How in the world did that happen, that this little tiny person I snuggled in my arms for the first time a year ago is suddenly babbling, starting to walk on his own, and opening, pulling apart, and gnawing on everything he can get his hands on?

This is incredible. I still have to sit back some days and realize how incredibly insane it is that I am a mom, and that my boy is so big already. Not really sure where the time went! :)

OK, moving on before I get too mushy.

We recently made a quick trip to Missouri. A couple of days were in the 70s. It felt so nice to wear a sundress and go outside barefoot again! And Toby loved being able to play outside.

Is anyone else ready for the snow/cold to go away? I am. I’ve skiied, I’ve snowmobiled, and it’s now time for spring. Partially, I’m impatient for the spring to being because we have a lot of fun projects planned for the summer. Most of them involve our back yard–my husband is coming up with plans for a playset, and I’m trying to decide what to plant in my first-ever vegetable garden, as well as mentally plotting the flower gardens.

Plus, I love the summer here. I love our bike rides several times a week, and the trips to the beach, and our annual camping trip at the Civil War fort in Copper Harbor. I’m dreaming of getting up early every morning and doing yoga on the porch, before coming back inside to quietly sip a cup of tea and have devotional time before Toby wakes up. Whether that actually happens or not is another story, but I like thinking about it. ;)

I think that this is why I’ve always referred to myself as a hobbit–I really love my quiet, comfy life that is filled with close friends, family, and good food. And the occasional adventure, of course.

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “A Post That Isn’t About Writing

  1. Heh. In Florida, our weather moved into the 70s by the end of January. That’s why I love it here. :)

Leave a Reply

