2 Comments

Creature of Habit

The last week has been a crisis of broken things for me.

First my Kindle died.

Then my laptop.

Lastly, the carport collapsed.

I hope this trend doesn’t continue.

Since this started with my Kindle, I’ve learned how much of a creature of habit I am. I’ve done little reading (no Kindle to read on). I’ve done no writing (no laptop to write with).

Change

Not because I don’t want to. I received a reviewer copy of one of my favorite author’s new books. But every time I go to read, I realize I have to use my desktop computer or my phone.

Ick.

Same with writing. I’ve got exciting ideas for the next few scenes. But I’d have to sit at the desktop computer.

Sad face.

Maybe you’re not a creature of habit, but most writer’s I know have their “writing space.” It may not be an actual spot, but it’s a mood. A climate. An environment.

While my writing environment frequently involves a child climbing on my head, sitting down in the living room while My Little Ponies is playing isn’t appealing to me.

But until I get the laptop fixed, I’m going to have to find a new environment. Blogging here today is a start. Kung Fu Panda for blogging mood, anyone?

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

2 comments on “Creature of Habit

  1. Yikes. What a rotten week. I actually prefer writing on my desktop Mac to my MacBook, because the full-size keyboard is more comfortable for me.

    As for cartoons in the background, all I can say is…headphones.

  2. I hear ya. It definitely makes a difference.

    One suggestion: Get a pair of headphones and play something loud enough to drown out the other noises. I use an hour-long ambient CD (now MP3) that plays the sound of the ocean (sea gulls and all) along with some soft musical notes. It has no words, so it doesn’t distract my thinking. The music is low-key enough that I don’t really have to be “in the mood” for it or not. It’s like writing at the beach. Only less distracting, because there’s nothing to see. ;-)

Leave a Reply

