6 Comments

The Judge

realm maders prompt 1I’ve been asked to accept the enormous honor of judging the Realm  Maker’s Flash Fiction Contest. The winner will receive free registration to this year’s Realm Makers conference. (For more details, click here. You still have a couple days to get your story in, if you’d like!)

Working with Splickety and Havok, I’ve also had the opportunity to judge other contests and critique stories and so on.

I’ve decided judging story contests is one of my absolute favorite things to do. It’s also one of my least favorite things to do.

I love it because I love getting to read all the different kinds of stories that come in. Even all based on the same photo or prompt, the variety of stories is amazing. And of course, since I love to read anyway, being required to do so is an added bonus. I love getting to see the talent, both honed and raw, and seeing the potential in the writers. I love hearing the voices of the writers, some of whom are old friends and some of whom are future old friends. I love honing my own skills, reading critically and applying my insights to my own writing. I love being trusted with such a task, and having people believe I’m worthy and capable to pull it off.

That’s also one of the reasons I hate it. Who, in their right mind, would pick me of all people to judge a contest? I’m not the greatest writer out there. Not by a long shot! I’m not the wisest or brilliantest editor. And I use words like “brilliantest”, so clearly someone must have made a mistake. What if I pick the wrong story? What if the story I like isn’t as well written or as good of a plot as I think it is? What if I just pick a favorite and don’t judge fairly? Not to mention, it’s a lot of work. What if I can’t get it all done in time? What if I miss deadlines (I’m known for that) and mess things up?

I have all sorts of fears and doubts running through my head, and yet, I still love it. It’s so much fun, and it’s a huge honor. I am thrilled to have been asked, and I’ll be thrilled to see which of these amazing stories ends up on top.

And I look forward to seeing entries from all of you!

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a married, stay-at-home mom of four living in Phoenix, AZ. She is active in her church on the worship team and with the women's minsitry. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers. When she's not writing or parenting, she loves to read, go hiking with friends, and crochet baby blankets.

6 comments on “The Judge

  1. They picked you because you are humble. The best judge one could possibly want is someone who is both competent (as one of my characters told my hero, lose the false modesty already, it’s not natural to you and doesn’t become you ;) ) and aware of his or her strengths and weaknesses.

    • I mean to say that Alain Harper sometimes falls into the trap. I obviously can’t speak for you. Still, worrying too much about our actions can undermine our ability to act and false modesty is one of the potential results. (I’m facing this myself in another writing arena and see, once more, the truth of it.) Just bring your A-game and grow thereby. :D

  2. One more thing. I won’t be able to enter the contest for a number of reasons, and chiefly because my whole approach to writing is coming to a point I knew it would eventually. I am about to describe this on my own blog(s) and will submit a guest blog here on the subject for consideration.

  3. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    I wrote as a comment: “They picked you because you are humble. The best judge one could possibly want is someone who is both competent (as one of my characters told my hero, lose the false modesty already, it’s not natural to you and doesn’t become you ;) ) and aware of his or her strengths and weaknesses.” :D

  4. You can do it, Avily! I’m glad you like judging contests! Someone has to–

  5. Believe in yourself as much as others believe in you. You will do well if you follow your heart that got you where you are now.
    Yisraela

Leave a Reply

