2 Comments

Sticking With It

Where did 2013 go? I think I was shorted a few months…I want my year back!good writing

Wow.

Well, what craziness will 2014 bring, I wonder? Besides that in three short months my son will be one…(yikes. I’m not old enough to have a one year old!)

Ahem. As always, I’m now in the midst of figuring out goals, schedules, etc. for the year. I tried to do this last year, even making a time diary and telling myself I had no excuses for not getting things done.

Yeah, that went well. And I’m only being partially sarcastic there. For some things, 2013 really DID go well. I had a baby, and that’s been wonderful. We finally bought a house, which has been so much fun. We were very busy last year, and I’m very happy with how it went. I definitely didn’t allow myself to make as many excuses as I had in the past. But last year did reveal to me something that I lack.

I lack stick-with-it-ness. Oh, not with some things. I keep writing. I’m completely committed to my family and my marriage. I stay with the major things, but I’d sure like to add the minor things to that as well. Last year, if I was tempted to sleep in, I told myself, “No excuses”, got up, and managed to get a lot done. But I didn’t do that every day. Last year, I’d sit down to write, tell myself, “No excuses”, stay off the internet, and pound out 4,000 words in two hours. But I didn’t do that every day, or even every day that I had even a free half hour to write.

So this year, it’s going to be “Stick With It”. I’m going to put my head down and stick with getting up at a good time every day. I’m going to stick with exercising, and writing, and keeping the house relatively clean. I’m going to write that phrase down and put it on the wall above my computer, and stick it on my bathroom mirror.

Choosing themes for the years may seem a little cheesy, but it helped me last year, more than making goals and lists has ever helped me. So hopefully, I’ll see some improvement in sticking with it by 2015.

How about you? Do you have any New Years’ goals or phrases?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

2 comments on “Sticking With It

  1. My theme for this year (I actually started late last year) is *focus!* I tend to try multi-tasking, which isn’t really efficient. And even though I know that, I still fall into the trap.

    Michael Bungay Stanier over at the Box of Crayons website says Great Work is produced by Resilience, Courage, and Focus. I’m pretty good on the first two. That third…I need to keep working on.

  2. I don’t want 2013 back — LOL — Looking forward to Restoration in 2014!

Leave a Reply

