3 Comments

Book First, Then Movie

the hobbitI keep seeing people post on Facebook that they just saw the latest Hobbit movie. Some like it, some don’t, some are disappointed, some are enthralled.

I haven’t seen it yet.

I have a rule (although I’ve broken it a few times) that I can’t watch the movie until I’ve read the book. Calm down. Yes, of course I’ve read The Hobbit. But my kids haven’t. I’m reading it to them, a little at a time, and when we’re finished we’ll watch the movies together as a family.

And so I will have to wait to be annoyed by how badly they ruined the book until I can finish reading it with my kids.

Yes, that’s exactly what happens. It annoys my poor husband to watch something with me because I get so riled up about “That’s not how it happened!” and “I can’t believe they did that!” and “Seriously?! I can’t even watch this, it’s totally ruined!” He prefers to watch the movie first so he can enjoy it for what it is without having to compare it to the book.

That’s totally wrong, of course. Absolutely backwards. It makes no sense whatsoever to watch the movie when you don’t know the REAL story.

Anyway, that is one of the many reasons I’m way behind on movies and TV shows. With everything I’ve had going on lately, I rarely have time to sit down and read, let alone watch the accompanying video format. I read The Help about a year ago and have yet to see that movie, as well as Water for Elephants. I still haven’t finished watching the Twilight movies or the Harry Potter movies (although I have finished all those books.) I’m currently in the middle of The Mortal Instruments series. The movie for the first one just came out.

On my list of things to read are the Hunger Games books (no, I haven’t even started those) and the Game of Thrones books. I’ve been told I would LOVE that show and I HAVE to watch it, but I can’t. Because I haven’t read the books. Because I have all those other books on my list. Because I don’t have time to sit and enjoy a book. Because of everything else I have going on.

But I will catch up some day. Oh yes, I will. I’ll have a plethora of movies and TV shows to catch up on when I retire. Do you think they’ll still have Netflix then?

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a married, stay-at-home mom of four living in Phoenix, AZ. She is active in her church on the worship team and with the women's minsitry. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers. When she's not writing or parenting, she loves to read, go hiking with friends, and crochet baby blankets.

3 comments on “Book First, Then Movie

  1. Avily, in this case, NOT reading the book/s first really would be an asset; that, or having read them quite a while ago so that they’re not as fresh in your memory. However, if you go into The Hobbit movies understanding and accepting that the director took great liberties with certain aspects of the plot although it follows the same general progression of: from Bilbo’s hobbit hole to Rivendell, then over the Misty Mountains to Esgaroth, and from there across the lake to the Lonely Mountain, you’ll do ok. All of the most beloved characters are still in the script. Some of them are just playing parts you won’t recognize! LOL Others, like Legolas (and girlfriend) are additions that work, even if they were never mentioned in the book.

    Watch out for the elf-king’s face. It’s going to creep you out…

    The second movie was really fun. I liked all the stuff that was added in. It was exciting and interesting, even if at the end I was left saying, “Hey, there really WAS no reason for Legolas to show up…THERE. Well, not really. Or those orcs. Or, or, or– But the barrel ride and the battle(s) with orcs and the separate battle with the dragon were all very well done and amazing, and I enjoyed watching them. :-)

    I suppose we’re just going to have to wait now for the BBC to buy the rights and do it exactly as what was in the book, because they’re the only folks in showbiz who seem to do that–ever.

Leave a Reply

