3 Comments

For Book Lovers Everywhere

Christmas-gifts-1383Last week, we talked about what presents WE wanted for Christmas. This week, let’s talk about what we might give others.

In an effort to support my fellow writers, I almost always give people books for Christmas. Yes, sometimes, even if they don’t normally read. I’m just mean that way. Do you tend to give books as presents?

I’m always on the lookout for new books for all kinds of readers.

Let’s stick with the last five years. What books would you give to someone for Christmas?

Here are my 3 choices (and I think most of them would resonate with readers, even if they didn’t typically read these genres):

1. Any book by Jim Rubart, but especially Soul’s Gate (supernatural)

2. Daughter of Light and Son of Truth by Morgan Busse (fantasy)

3. The Ryn and The Remedy by Serena Chase (fantasy)

About Ralene Burke

Whether Ralene Burke is wielding a writer’s pen, an editor’s sword, or a social media wand, she always has her head in a dreamer’s world. And she wants to make it SHINE! In her own writing, Ralene spins fast-paced tales of fantasy worlds, angels and demons, and the broader calling of every human being. A place where the light pierces the darkness . . . You can find out more about her writing and editing services on her website: www.raleneburke.com. Outside of the publishing world, she is a veteran’s wife and a homeshooling mama of three amazing children. She enjoys crazy nights with friends and board games, snuggling with her family, or, more often than not, enjoying the company of a good book.

3 comments on “For Book Lovers Everywhere

  1. Well, as a struggling author who can’t afford Xmas presents,. My family and friends get my books… which I doubt they read. I tell myself “It’s the thought that counts.” Then I think they’re those anonymous critics who rate my stories with one star. Ah well, there is the New Year and I’ve got other story ideas.

    • I’m sure they read them! I totally didn’t think my mom would want to read my stuff, but my aunt (who did a beta read for me) ended up having a nice copy of the first novel I wrote made for her. She loved the book. So, even if you don’t think they are, they might be. :)

  2. I almost never give books as gifts, because I don’t know what people have already. There are two books I would love to give to my clients if only it wouldn’t demolish my profit margin: APE: Author Publisher Entrepreneur by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch and Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors by Kathy Ide. Technically, the latter isn’t out yet, but it’s available for pre-order! Its forerunner, Polishing the PUGS: Punctuation Usage Grammar and Spelling, is a great book for writers. It condenses the bare minimum writers need to know into a clean, easy-to-read format. I recommend APE to anyone who is considering self-publishing, because it covers all bases.

Leave a Reply

